Ise Shrine

Ise is divided into two major shrine complexs, the Imperial
Shrine, which honors the emperor's ancestors, and the Toyouke Shrine, devoted to agriculture. The Imperial Shrine is also called the Naiku, or Inner Shrine, and is dedicated to the Sun-Goddess, Amaterasu Omikami, from whom the early emperors claimed to descend. Members of the Japanese imperial family still pay tribute to their Sun goddess ancestor at the Ise Naiku. The Toyaouke Shrine, or Geku, Outer Shrine, is dedicated to Toyuke Okami, the "Abudant Food Great Deity."

| Back to Background |