Changing your Parnassus Password in Employee Self-Service

Scope

This procedure covers the use of Employee Self-Service to change an employee’s Parnassus Password as well as change an Employee’s "Known As" name (the name shown on the welcome page).

Policy

Employee Passwords in Employee Self-Service

Changes in Employee Self-Service should be made only if real changes to an employee’s record are necessary.

Changes in Employee Self-Service that cannot be completed should always be cancelled by selecting the [Cancel] button.

Distribution

Employee Self-Service User*

Ownership

The HRIS Director [bgriffin@ithaca.edu] is responsible for ensuring that this document is necessary and that it reflects actual practice.

Activity Preface

This activity is performed whenever an employee would like to change their Parnassus password.  This activity is also performed when an employee would like to change their "Known As" name on the Parnassus Welcome page.

The job title Employee refers to:

Employee

1. Login to Parnassus

2. Select the Preferences hyperlink at the top right of the Home Page.

3. Determine if you need to change your "Known As" name.

You will need to change your name if:

You will also be able to make name changes to your permanent record in Employee Self-Service.  Refer to Changing Personal Information in Employee Self-Service [PROHRI08].

If you need to change your "Known As" name, goto task #4. Otherwise, goto task #6.

4. Change your "Known As" name.

5. Click the [Apply] button to apply the change.

You will see the following confirmation message:

6. Determine if you need to change your password.

It is good practice to periodically change your password for the sake of security.

If you would like to change your password, goto task #7. Otherwise, goto task #9.

7. Change your password.

Changing this password will affect not only your Employee Self-Service login, but eventually (after the next clone) your Parnassus login to all instances.

8. Click the [Apply] button to apply the change.

You will see the following confirmation message:

9. Click the Home hyperlink to return to the Home Page when you are finished making changes to your Parnassus preferences.

You can continue to work with Employee Self-Service from the Home Page.

10.    Click the "Logout" hyperlink (in the upper right corner of the page) when finished with Employee Self-Service to properly disconnect from Parnassus.

End of activity.


Changing your Parnassus Password in Employee Self-Service: Flowchart Start Employee Task #1 Task #2 Task #3 Decision Employee Task #4 Task #5 Employee Task #6 Decision Employee Task #7 Task #8 Employee Task #9 Task #10 End