For Faculty and Staff

H&S General Education Committee

The H&S General Education Committee, established in fall 2011, is the faculty committee responsible for oversight of the current General Education program in H&S, including: review of general education designation requests submitted by departments for Ithaca College courses; review of petitions for general education credit submitted by students for courses taken at other institutions; and assessment of the program. (Note that designations for the new Core Curriculum are handled by the Committee on College-wide Requirements, or CCR.)

The committee is also responsible, in coordination with the H&S Curriculum Committee, for overseeing the development and implementation of the new integrative core curriculum in H&S, specifically the Complementary Liberal Arts component of the ICC. In spring 2012, H&S faculty approved a school-wide curricular structure for H&S students to satisfy this component of the Core curriculum.

The General Education Committee members for 2013-14 are:

Jeane Copenhaver-Johnson, Education (SS, '14)*
Chrystyna Dail, Theatre Arts (FA,'14)
Thomas Girshin, Writing (At Large, '14)
Leann Kanda, Biology (NS, ’15)
Rebecca Lesses, Jewish Studies  (HU, ’15)
Cyndy Scheibe, Psychology  (At Large, ’15)*
Mary Ann Erickson, Gerontology (liaison to H&S Curriculum Committee)
Stacia Zabusky, Associate Dean, H&S, ex officio

*Co-chairs for 2013-14

The General Education Designation Subcommittee members for 2013-14 are:

Leann Kanda (chair, subcommittee)
Chrystyna Dail
Rebecca Lesses

School of Humanities and Sciences  ·  201 Muller Center  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-3102  ·  Full Directory Listing