Careers and Internships in Art History and related fields

(Updated January 26, 2017)

Deadlines are italicized and in bold

 

INTERNSHIP OPPORTUNITIES

 

NEW YORK CITY

American Folk Art Museum - Check website for updates - http://folkartmuseum.org/about/opportunities/

American Museum of Natural History - for summer: March 1, 2017  - http://www.amnh.org/our-research/anthropology/policies-links/internship-program

Brooklyn Museum - Check website for updates - (check early March 2017 for summer internships) - https://www.brooklynmuseum.org/education/adults/intern-educators

Columbia University Arts Initiative -Check website for updates - http://artsinitiative.columbia.edu/jobs/listings

Guggenheim Museum - for summer: January 30, 2017 - http://www.guggenheim.org/new-york/education/internships

International Center for Photography (ICP) - ICP's Internship Program runs on an academic schedule, including a summer term. Current students and recent graduates are encouraged to apply - http://www.icp.org/about-icp/opportunities-icp

Metropolitan Museum of Art - (JANUARY 29, 2017 DEADLINE for paid internships  - MARCH 5, 2017  for unpaid)  - http://www.metmuseum.org/research/internships-and-fellowships/internships/internships-for-college-and-graduate-students

Museum of Arts and Design (@ Columbus Circle) -  http://www.madmuseum.org/learn/internships

Museum of Modern Art - for summer: February 12, 2017 -  https://www.moma.org/about/internships

Museum of the Moving Image - Check website for updates - http://www.movingimage.us/about/internships

Museum of the City of New YorkContact museum - application dates are rolling depending on need - http://www.mcny.org/employment

New Museum - for summer: March 15 - April 15, 2017 - http://www.newmuseum.org/interns

The Frick Collection for summer: February 10, 2017 - http://www.frick.org/careers/internships

The Jewish Museum - Check website for updates - http://thejewishmuseum.org/careers

The Morgan Museum and Library - Accepts applications on a rolling basis all year - http://www.themorgan.org/opportunities/internships

The Tenement Museum - Check website for updates - http://www.tenement.org/jobs.php

Whitney Museum of American Art - for summer: February 1, 2017- http://whitney.org/About/Internships

 

UPSTATE NEW YORK

Cornell University-Johnson Art Museum, Ithaca, NY - Contact museum for information - http://museum.cornell.edu/internships.html

Corning Museum of Glass, Corning, NY - See website for informationhttp://www.cmog.org/get-involved/internships

Erie Canal Museum, Syracuse, NY - http://eriecanalmuseum.org/jobs/

Everson Museum of Art, Syracuse, NY - Contact museum for information  - http://everson.org/about/employmenthttp://everson.org/about/employment

Historic Ithaca/Significant Elements, Ithaca, NY - Contact Historic Ithaca for information - http://www.significantelements.org/about/volunteer/

Holt Architects, Ithaca, NY - Contact cja@holt.com - http://www.holt.com/content/view/careers.html

Museum of the Earth, Ithaca, NY - Contact museum for more detailed information - http://www.museumoftheearth.org/volunteer.php?page=Vol_Intern

Saltonstall Foundation for the Arts, Ithaca, NY - Contact foundation director - http://www.saltonstall.org/internships.html

Sciencenter, Ithaca, NY - Volunteer opportunities - http://www.sciencenter.org/get-involved.html

The History Center, Ithaca, NY - Check website - http://www.thehistorycenter.net/volunteer

The Strong: National Museum of Play, Rochester, NY - http://www.museumofplay.org/connect/internships

 

WASHINGTON DC 

Dumbarton Oaks - http://www.doaks.org/research/harvard-programs/summer-internships

Freer Gallery of Art- http://www.asia.si.edu/research/fellowships.asp

Hirshhorn Museum- http://hirshhorn.si.edu/collection/workinternvolunteer/#detail=/bio/internships/&collection=workinternvolunteer

Kreeger MuseumMarch 24, 2017 - https://www.kreegermuseum.org/education/internships

National Gallery of Art- Graduate internships http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/education/interns-fellows.html

National Museum of African Art - Check website links - http://africa.si.edu/about/opportunities/

National Museum of the American Indian- February 6, 2017  - http://nmai.si.edu/connect/internships/

National Museum of Women in the Arts - March 15, 2017 - http://nmwa.org/about/internships

National Portrait Gallery - March 1, 2017  - http://npg.si.edu/get-involved/internships

Smithsonian American Art Museum - March 1, 2017 - http://americanart.si.edu/research/opportunity/interns/

Smithsonian Institution - Check web site for multiple listings - http://www.smithsonianofi.com/internship-opportunities/

Smithsonian Museum Conservation Institute - check web site for updates - http://www.smithsonianofi.com/internship-opportunities/

United States Holocaust Memorial Museumcheck in March 2017 for updateshttp://www.ushmm.org/information/career-volunteer-opportunities/internships

 

BOSTON

Boston Center for the Arts - Check website for updates - http://www.bcaonline.org/aboutthebca/internships-and-volunteering.html

Children's Museum - http://www.bostonchildrensmuseum.org/about/employment

Historic New England - http://www.historicnewengland.org/about-us/volunteers-interns/internships-at-historic-new-england

Institute of Contemporary Art - April 1, 2017 - http://www.icaboston.org/about/jobs-and-internships/ica-internships

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum - check museum website for updates - http://www.gardnermuseum.org/about/employment/internships

Museum of Fine ArtsApplications accepted February 7 - March 27, 2017 - http://www.mfa.org/employment/internship-opportunities

Museum of Science - http://www.mos.org/internships

Peabody Essex Museum - http://www.pem.org/about/_employment/internships_fellowships/

Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology - (no internships availalble for summer 2017) - (https://www.peabody.harvard.edu/node/186

 

PHILADELPHIA

Barnes Foundation - February 1, 2017 - http://www.barnesfoundation.org/about/careers-volunteering/internships

Institute of Contemporary Arts - April 1, 2017http://icaphila.org/students/internships

Franklin Institute - https://www.fi.edu/internships

Magic Gardens https://www.phillymagicgardens.org/join-and-support/opportunities/internships/

Mutter Museum - http://muttermuseum.org/about/volunteers/

Philadelphia Museum of Art  - DEADLINE: January 27, 2017 - http://www.philamuseum.org/education/273-358-50.html

Photo Arts Canter - https://www.philaphotoarts.org/opportunities/

Please Touch Museum - http://www.pleasetouchmuseum.org/about/employment/

 

CHICAGO

Chicago Children's Museum - http://www.chicagochildrensmuseum.org/index.php/about/student-internships

Chicago History Museum - https://www.chicagohistory.org/about-us/jobs-volunteering/internships/

DuSable Museum of African American History - http://www.dusablemuseum.org/jobs/

Elmhurst Art Museum - May 1, 2016 -  https://www.elmhurstartmuseum.org/about/intern

Field Museum - http://www.fieldmuseum.org/about/careers/internships

Glessner House Museum - http://www.glessnerhouse.org/internships/

Museum of Contemporary Art - February 15, 2017 - https://mcachicago.org/About/Internships

National Hellenic Museum - https://www.nationalhellenicmuseum.org/visit/about-us/internships/

National Museum of Mexican Art - http://www.nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org/content/volunteer

Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum - http://www.naturemuseum.org/get-involved/jobs-and-internships/internship-opportunities

 

HELPFUL LINKS

 

School of Humanities and Sciences  ·  201 Muller Center  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-3102  ·  Full Directory Listing