Careers and Internships in Art History and related fields

(Updated January 26, 2016)

Deadlines are italicized and in bold

 

INTERNSHIPS in NEW YORK CITY and DEADLINES:

Guggenheim Museum - for summer: January 30, 2016 (http://www.guggenheim.org/new-york/education/internships)

Whitney Museum of American Art - for summer: February 1, 2016 (http://whitney.org/About/Internships)

The Frick Collection -  for summer: February 19, 2016 (http://www.frick.org/careers/internships)

Museum of Modern Art - for summer: February 19, 2016 (http://www.moma.org/learn/courses/internships#about)

American Museum of Natural History - for summer: March 1, 2016 (http://www.amnh.org/our-research/anthropology/policies-links/internship-program)

New Museum - for summer: April 15, 2016 (http://www.newmuseum.org/interns)

Museum of Arts and Design (@ Columbus Circle) - for summer: April 15, 2016 (http://www.madmuseum.org/learn/internships)

The Morgan Museum and Library - Accept applications on a rolling basis all year (http://www.themorgan.org/opportunities/internships)

American Museum of Natural History - for summer: March 14, 2016 (http://www.amnh.org/learn-teach/post-secondary/internships-for-college-and-graduate-students)

The Jewish Museum - Check website for updates - (http://thejewishmuseum.org/careers)

The Tenement Museum -  for summer: April 1, 2016 - (http://www.tenement.org/jobs.php)

Museum of the City of New York -  Contact museum - application dates are rolling depending on need -  (http://www.mcny.org/content/jobs-interns-volunteers)

International Center for Photography (ICP) - ICP's Internship Program runs on an academic schedule, including a summer term. Current students and recent graduates are encouraged to apply. (http://www.icp.org/about-icp/opportunities-icp)

Metropolitan Museum of Art - Check website for further information  - http://www.metmuseum.org/research/internships-and-fellowships/internships/internships-for-college-and-graduate-students

Museum of the City of New York- (http://www.mcny.org/content/about-city-museum?q=content/jobs-interns-volunteers#Interns)

Museum of the Moving Image- (http://www.movingimage.us/about/internships)

American Folk Art Museum- (http://folkartmuseum.org/about/opportunities/)

Brooklyn Museum- Check website for updates (https://www.brooklynmuseum.org/education/adults/intern-educators)

Columbia University Arts Initiative- (http://artsinitiative.columbia.edu/jobs/listings)

 

INTERNSHIP POSSIBILITIES in UPSTATE NEW YORK:

Cornell University-Johnson Art Museum, Ithaca, NY - Contact museum for information - (http://museum.cornell.edu/internships.html)

Museum of the Earth, Ithaca, NY - Contact museum for more detailed information - (http://www.museumoftheearth.org/volunteer.php?page=Vol_Intern)

Sciencenter, Ithaca, NY - Volunteer opportunities - (http://www.sciencenter.org/get-involved.html)

The History Center, Ithaca, NY - Check website - (http://www.thehistorycenter.net/thc_getinvolved/)

Saltonstall Foundation for the Arts, Ithaca, NY - Contact foundation director - (http://www.saltonstall.org/internships.html)

Historic Ithaca/Significant Elements, Ithaca, NY - Contact Historic Ithaca for information - (http://www.significantelements.org/about/volunteer/)

Corning Museum of Glass, Corning, NY -   See website for information -  (http://www.cmog.org/get-involved/internships)

Holt Architects, Ithaca, NY - Contact cja@holt.com - (http://www.holt.com/content/view/careers.html)

Everson Museum of Art, Syracuse, NY - Contact museum for information  - (http://everson.org/museum/opportunities.php)

The Strong: National Museum of Play, Rochester, NY- (http://www.museumofplay.org/connect/internships)

Eerie Canal Museum, Syracuse, NY- (http://eriecanalmuseum.org/jobs/)

 

INTERNSHIPS in WASHINGTON DC and DEADLINES (for summer internships):

(NEW) Dumbarton Oaks (Exhibition Intern, Image Cataloging Intern, Digitization Intern, and Archival Intern) http://www.doaks.org/library-archives/icfa/about-icfa/internships

Smithsonian Institution - Check web site for multiple listings - http://www.smithsonianofi.com/internship-opportunities/

Smithsonian Museum Conservation Institute - February 15, 2016 - for summer internship - check web site for updates - http://www.smithsonianofi.com/internship-opportunities/

National Museum of African Art - Check website links - http://africa.si.edu/about/opportunities/

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum -  March 1, 2016 -  http://www.ushmm.org/information/career-volunteer-opportunities/internships

Smithsonian American Art Museum - March 1, 2016 - http://americanart.si.edu/research/opportunity/interns/

National Portrait Gallery - March 1, 2016 - http://npg.si.edu/education/internships.html

Kreeger Museum - March 21, 2016 - (https://www.kreegermuseum.org/education/internships)

Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection - Check website for updates -  http://www.doaks.org/library-archives/icfa/about-icfa/internships

National Museum of Women in the Arts - March 15, 2016 - http://nmwa.org/about/internships

National Gallery of Art- Graduate internships (http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/education/interns-fellows.html)

Hirshhorn Museum- (http://hirshhorn.si.edu/collection/workinternvolunteer/#detail=/bio/internships/&collection=workinternvolunteer)

Freer Gallery of Art- (http://www.asia.si.edu/research/fellowships.asp)

National Museum of the American Indian- February 6, 2016 (http://nmai.si.edu/connect/internships/)

 

INTERNSHIPS in BOSTON and DEADLINES (for summer internships):

Museum of Fine Arts- (http://www.mfa.org/employment/internship-opportunities)

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum- (http://www.gardnermuseum.org/about/employment/internships)

Center for the Arts- (http://www.bcaonline.org/aboutthebca/internships-and-volunteering.html)

Institute of Contemporary Art- April 1, 2016 (http://www.icaboston.org/about/jobs-and-internships/ica-internships)

Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology- (https://www.peabody.harvard.edu/node/186)

Museum of Science- (http://www.mos.org/internships)

Historic New England- (http://www.historicnewengland.org/about-us/volunteers-interns/internships-at-historic-new-england)

Children's Museum- (http://www.bostonchildrensmuseum.org/about/employment)

Peabody Essex Museum- (http://www.pem.org/about/_employment/internships_fellowships/)

 

INTERNSHIPS in PHILADELPHIA and DEADLINES (for summer internships):

Philadelphia Museum of Art- (http://www.philamuseum.org/education/273-358-50.html)

The Barnes Foundation- March 1, 2016 (http://www.barnesfoundation.org/about/careers-volunteering/internships)

Institute of Contemporary Arts- April 1, 2016 (http://icaphila.org/students/internships)

Magic Gardens- (http://www.phillymagicgardens.org/join-and-support/opportunities/internships/)

Photo Arts Canter- (https://www.philaphotoarts.org/opportunities/)

The Franklin Institute- (https://www.fi.edu/internships)

Mutter Museum- (http://muttermuseum.org/about/volunteers/)

Please Touch Museum- (http://www.pleasetouchmuseum.org/about-us/employment/internships/)

 

INTERNSHIPS in CHICAGO and DEADLINES (for summer internships):

Museum of Contemporary Art- February 15, 2016 (http://www2.mcachicago.org/employment/internships)

National Museum of Mexican Art- (http://www.nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org/content/volunteer)

DuSable Museum of African American History- (http://www.dusablemuseum.org/membership-support/internships/)

Field Museum- (http://www.fieldmuseum.org/about/careers/internships)

Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum- (http://www.naturemuseum.org/get-involved/jobs-and-internships/internship-opportunities)

National Hellenic Musem- (https://www.nationalhellenicmuseum.org/visit/about-us/internships/)

Elmhurst Art Museum- May 1, 2016 (https://www.elmhurstartmuseum.org/about/intern)

Chicago History Museum- (http://www.chicagohistory.org/aboutus/jobsvolunteering/internships)

Glessner House Museum- (http://www.glessnerhouse.org/Involvement.htm)

Chicago Children's Museum- (http://www.chicagochildrensmuseum.org/index.php/about/student-internships)

 

HELPFUL LINKS:

In New York Sotheby's offers three Master's Degree programs, in Art BusinessContemporary Art and American Fine and Decorative Art. A two-semester Graduate Certificate is also available to students who complete the required coursework for the MA but who do not wish to write a Master's Degree Thesis. A range of Summer Study Courses and Professional Studies and Public Programs are also offered.

School of Humanities and Sciences  ·  201 Muller Center  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-3102  ·  Full Directory Listing