Two School of Music Students elected to executive board of national music education organization


Contributed by Jenny Stockdale

The National Association for Music Education (NAfME) has elected School of Music students Jillian Francis (’14) and Grace Dermerath (’15) to sit on its Collegiate Executive Board for the 2013-14 academic year.

A junior Music Education major, Francis will be serving as Province 3 Representative at the NAfME state-level. She will represent the Central and Northern New York NAfME collegiate chapters, which include SUNY-Potsdam (Crane School of Music), Syracuse University, and Ithaca College.

In addition, Francis will also serve as Secretary on the Ithaca College CNAfME Chapter 219 executive board for the 2013-14 academic year. She is an active member of the Ithaca College Lambda Chapter of Mu Phi Epsilon.

Demerath, a sophomore Music Education major, will be serving as President-Elect at the NAfME state-level. After her year-long tenure as President-Elect for the 2013-2014 academic year, Demerath will assume the role of the President of NAfME Collegiate for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Previously, Demerath served as President-Elect of the Ithaca College CNAfME Chapter 219 during the 2012-2013 academic year and will also be President of the chapter starting this fall. She is also an active member of the Ithaca College Lambda Chapter of Mu Phi Epsilon and will be President of said chapter next year. 

NAfME-Collegiate/NYSSMA serves as a collegiate division of the New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA), which is a state affiliate of the National Association for Music Education. NAfME-Collegiate/NYSSMA promotes and endorses professional development for pre-service music educators, seeks to increase its membership and support, and advocates for music education in public schools.

The Ithaca College CNAfME Chapter 219 remains active at the local- and state-level of the NAfME. Current advisor and officers include: 

Advisor: Dr. Dan Isbell
President: Jamie Ocheske (’13)
President-Elect: Grace Demerath (’15)
Secretary: Erika St. Denis (’13)
Treasurer: Chrysten Angderson (’15)
Public Relations: Rebecca Saltzman (’15)
Vocal Representative: Jennifer Giustino (’14)
Strings Representative: Jonathan Fleischman (’15)

Congratulations to these students and their instructors!