Best Practices Outlook Calendar
Some best practice recommendations are listed below:
If multiple users are working on a calendar, use the same version of Outlook at the same patch level: When working on the same calendar use the same Outlook version with the same service pack and "update" levels. An Outlook client up-to-date and an Outlook client that is not up-to-date might have a different behavior while processing a meeting and conflicts might appear.
Always process meeting invites from the Inbox folder: Normally when a user is invited to a meeting, an email message will appear in his Inbox folder, containing the meeting invite. At the same time the meeting will be placed in the Calendar as “tentative”. These operations are automatically made by Outlook and Exchange. We recommend that the user that receives the meeting invite process it using the meeting invite message from Inbox. Deleting the meeting request message from Inbox, before manually processing the meeting, will delete also the “tentative” meeting from your calendar. Once the meeting is processed using the meeting invite message, you will see that the meeting will change from “Tentative” to “Accepted”
Always process meetings invites that you receive: When receiving a meeting request, a meeting/appointment will be placed in your calendar as “Tentative”. Processing the meeting request by accepting/ declining it. This will inform the meeting organizer about your presence in the meeting. Always process any email updates you receive for accepted meetings. Leaving the meeting as Tentative without processing it will potentially create conflicts and the information in your calendar won’t be accurate.
Always send responses to a meeting request: It is important for meeting organizers to know who is attending a meeting. Organizers know this because of the meeting response emails. Always send an email response even if it is only tentative.
Do not delete meetings from your calendar: Once you accepted a meeting and you are no longer able to participate do not delete the meeting from your calendar! If you delete the meeting, the organizer will not be informed that you declined the meeting and in his calendar you will still appear in the attendees list. If you are not going to participate in a meeting that you previously accepted, use the “Decline” button to send the meeting cancellation message. When you decline a meeting the organizer will receive this message and you will be removed from the attendees list. Also if you are not able to attend to a meeting at the proposed time you can always use the “Proposed New Time” feature of Outlook in order to inform the organizer. Note: You will not receive any meeting updates for a meeting you declined.
Accept meeting cancellations: If you receive a meeting cancellation message, open the message and click on the “Remove from Calendar” button. The meeting will be removed from the calendar. By doing this you will avoid having a cancelled meeting still appear in your calendar.
Schedule an end date for recurring meetings: We recommend using an “End Date” for a recurring meeting.
Don't delete meetings from the calendar, "cancel" the meeting and send notification to attendees: If you are the organizer and need to cancel a meeting or a series of meetings, open the meeting and click "Cancel the Meeting." Do not simply delete the meeting from the calendar. Always send a notice to the attendees. Attendees will receive in their inbox the “Cancellation” message and will have the possibility to remove the meeting from their calendar (with the Remove from Calendar button). Important: All occurrences for the meeting will be deleted.
Don't use a mobile device to accept/decline meetings: Mobile devices process meeting requests differently. Invitations are not send to the Inbox. Responses can be handled through the calendar application by clicking directly on the meeting and accepting/declining but this action will not remove the invite from the computer Inbox and may cause confusion.
Never forward meeting requests either as meeting Organizer or Attendee: You as the meeting organizer or attendee, should never forward a meeting request because the new recipient will not be automatically added to the original "attendee" list. As the organizer, you must add the new recipient to the meeting attendee list and send "an update" to the original meeting.
Never type notes about an attendee in the notes section of the meeting. These notes are visible to all attendees.