Award-Winning PKP Members

National Awards

2011-12 Marjorie Schock PKP National Graduate Fellowship Winner: Kaylee Underkofler

A 2011 Ithaca College graduate, Kaylee was awarded the Marjorie Schock Phi Kappa Phi National Graduate Fellowship. This $5,000 fellowship recognizes students with outstanding academic and extracurricular performance as they enter their first year of full-time graduate or professional study. While at Ithaca College, Kaylee completed her Bachelor of Science as a Biochemistry major. Her accomplishments in chemistry include participation in the Honors Program, presenting her thesis entitled “Dynamics of Diazaborole Exchange for Use in Covalent Organic Frameworks,” presenting research at two national conferences, receiving the John Bernard Presidential Scholar Award 2011-12, and being on the Dean’s List. Kaylee will go onto the chemistry program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and work towards a Ph.D. in Chemistry.

About the Phi Kappa Phi National Graduate Fellowship Program

From its beginnings in 1929, the Phi Kappa Phi National Graduate Fellowship Program has become one of the largest and most respected scholarship programs in the country, allocating more than $380,000 annually to outstanding students for first-year graduate study.

Last year Phi Kappa Phi awarded 60 Fellowships of $5,000 each and 40 Awards of Excellence of $2,000 each for post-graduate study at accredited institutions of higher learning. Each chapter has the opportunity to submit one nominee.

The following Ithaca College students have won Fellowships in the past:

  • Kaitlyn Alcorn, Music, 2010
  • Joseph Livingston, Chemistry, 2007
  • Dominic DiOrio, Music, 2006
  • Rebecca Hammontree, Music, 2004
  • Bridget Reynolds, Psychology, 2002
  • Dheeraj Verma, Mathematics and Finance, 1999
  • Teresa Lemery, Physical Therapy, 1997
  • Pablo Cora, Music, 1995
  • Ann Stewart, Music and Mathematics, 1994

In addition, the following Ithaca College students have won Awards of Excellence:

  • Jill Cadby, Health Sciences, 2009
  • Johanna Mailhot, Health Sciences, 2008
  • Sarah Gates, Psychology, 2001  

For more information: