The Ithacan has been named a Gold Medalist for both Fall 2008 and Spring 2009 in the Columbia Scholastic Press Association's annual college newspaper critique.


 Each year the CSPA evaluates member papers on overall content, news, depth reporting, features, opinion/editorial, sports, arts/entertainment, editing/headline writing, and design/graphics on the bases of more than 150 specific criteria. This year the newspaper's scores on the critique's 1,000-point scale were 977 for fall and 945 for spring. The CSPA consistently ranks the Ithacan as a gold medalist, its highest category.


The producers and directors of Trouble the Water, the Oscar-nominated documentary about Hurricane Katrina, will screen their film and talk about their work in two appearances at Ithaca College. The presentations by Tia Lessin and Carl Deal -- who were also producers on Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 9/11 and Bowling for Columbine -- are free and open to the public.

Trouble the Water will be shown on Tuesday, September 15, at 7:30 p.m. in Emerson Suites, Phillips Hall. It will be followed by a question-and-answer session with Lessin and Deal. On Wednesday, September. 16, they will show excerpts from their works and discuss the "Agonies/Ecstasies of Independent Filmmaking" at 7:00 p.m. in Park Auditorium.

Official Website: Trouble the Water


The Ithacan has been named a Pacemaker finalist and the Ithacan Online has been named an Online Pacemaker finalist for 2009 by the Associated Collegiate Press.  

The winners of the award -- widely regarded as the "Pulitzer Prize of collegiate journalism" -- will be announced at the ACP/CMA National College Media Convention in Austin, Texas, at the end of October.


Ithaca College Television's NewsWatch 16 was awarded first place in the college television competition by the New York State Associated Press Broadcasters Association. News director Bryan Mercer and producer Becky Goodling were in attendance.

Busking the Big Apple, a documentary on street performers in New York City, won the grand prize at the Association of Higher Education Campus Television Administrators (AHECTA) 2009 National Student Production contest. The documentary was produced by Chris Cucci, Chris Burt, and Sarah Justine Woodhouse.

Three other ICTV programs were recognized with Honorable Mentions by AHECTA, including: Game Over, produced by Dan Hirsch and Natalie Shoemaker; Gourmet for a Day, produced by Allison Gainza and Stu Kenney; and History of ICTV, produced by Bryan Mercer.


Journalism professors Jeff Cohen, Matt Mogekwu, Vadim Isakov and former Dean Dianne Lynch were featured in a newspaper article titled, "The future of newspapers . . . or will there even be one?"

Written by Leong Siok Hui, the article was recently included in The...

Add a comment  · 

« first | ‹ previous | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | next › | last »

Roy H. Park School of Communications  ·  311 Park Hall  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-1021  ·  Full Directory Listing