Established in 2002 due to the generosity of a Professor of History in the department, Robert Ryan.

Scholarship Competition:  The History Department announces a competition for the Robert A. Ryan Prize for next academic year (2019-2020). We typically give the following awards:

• 3 senior awards at up to $4000 each
• 3 junior awards at up to $3000 each
• 3 sophomore awards at up to $2000 each

All applicants must:

  1. be a history or social studies education major enrolled full-time for at least one semester of the 2018-2019 academic year,
  2. have a minimum GPA of 3.0 in history classes and a 3.0 overall, and
  3. have a minimum of 9 credits of in IC history department courses that you have completed or are currently enrolled in.

If a student has not completed 9 credits, they must ask their history professors to sign a form attesting to their current course grade(s). If you meet these prerequisites, please submit 3 papers you have written from at least 2 different history classes. In addition, provide a brief cover letter contextualizing your papers and explaining how they illustrate your approach as a student of history.

The deadline for applying for this prize is Friday, March 15, 2019. Please submit your portfolio via email to Professor Breuer to Muller 412. Late submissions will not be considered.

If you have questions, contact Professors Breuer (kbreuer@ithaca.edu), Conger (vconger@ithaca.edu) or Wasyliw (wasyliw@ithaca.edu)

Students Who Have Earned the Robert A. Ryan Scholarship:

2019  Samantha Brundal; Spencer Cadley; Hunter Flamm; Catherine Introcaso; Finley MacGregor; Araxie Mehrotra; Victoria Sheridan; Brittany Spoto; Eliza Wildes

2018  Samantha Brundal; Naomi Hansen; Cameron MacGregor; Kayla Marr; Araxie Mehrota; Eva Rudo; Brittany Spoto; Luis Valderrama; Eliza Wildes

2017  Madeleine Anthony; Amanda Boyle; Joseph Buttimer; Evan Denning; Naomi Hansen; Natalie Howlett; Spencer Mooney

2016  Madeleine Anthony; Amanda Boyle; Joseph Buttimer; Evan Denning; Samantha DiFalco; Naomi Hanson; Natalie Howlett; Spencer Mooney; Drew Stierhoff

201Madeleine Anthony; Kaleb Cabisca; Evan Denning; William Loveland; Joseph Buttimer; Samantha Cripe; Eleanor Holleran; Allison Salzman

2014  Alexander Accetta; Joseph Buttimer; Evan Denning; Megan Dunn; Celina Foran; Bud Gankhuyag; Eric Trautman-Mosher; Nicholas Tryka; Christopher Whalen

2013  Emily Gallik; Bud Gankhuyag; Joshua S. Greenfield; Jacob Huston; David Kaminsky; Johannah Litwin; Simone Noonan

2012  Cayla Cluckey; Meredith R. McWeeney; Joanna E. Miller; Jack B. Mohrbacher; Jessica Mortellaro; Matthew A. Prokosch; Corinne E. Swanson; Benjamin T. Weger

2011  Megan Gaul; Ashley Jacoby; Meredith McWeeney; Kathleen O’Loughlin; James Strouss; Corinne Swanson

2010  Rachel Corcoran; Kaitlyn Dunphy; Megan Gaul; Ashley Jacoby; Ian Mahoney

2009  Christopher Allaire; Jesse Atkins; Kevin Fry; Ian Mahoney; Rachel Walker

2008  Chris Allaire; Brittany Bovenizi; Christopher Crawford; Andrew Zivic

2007  Priyum Banerjee; Angelica Burton; Jeffrey Taylor; Andrew Zivic

2006  David Cutler; Lauren Georger; Mandi Morningstar; Amanda Sticker

2005  Lauren Georger; Jude Gullie; Mandi Morningstar; Benjamin Sibley

2004  Jude Gullie; Alexis Heath; Antonio Saccoccio; Patrick Vrooman

2003   Elizabeth Gardiner; Jarett Powers; Zulekia Shepard; Megan Talmadge

2002   Brian Ohl; Jarett Powers; Zulekia Shepard; Bozhidar