NYSED: Certification Exams and Teaching Standards in NYS

Certification Exams

Candidates for initial certification in New York State are required to pass three assessments: Educating All Students (EAS), a Content Specialty Test in the certification area (CST), and a portfolio assessment (edTPA). Click the links below for more information on the New York State assessments.

New York State Teacher Certification Exams (EAS, CST)


New York State Office of Higher Education

Certification Exam Safety Nets

Click here for details about Safety Nets for specific licensure examinations

State Teaching Standards

NYSED's website maintains information about current New York State Teaching Standards and other regulations pertaining to educator preparation in NYS.

Additional Test Prep Resources for Students:

See the CUNY Teacher Ed Webinar Series for helpful tips for the ALST, EAS, and edTPA exams.

Check out Educating All Students (EAS) test prep materials created by the SUNY Downstate Region team.

Refer to the quick guide below for step-by-step instructions for signing up for an exam.