Grants, Awards, and Publications

Hugh Egan Scholar Award

This award is presented to a graduating senior who best embodies the qualities of the program’s first director, Professor Hugh Egan.

Hugh Egan was the founding director of the Humanities and Sciences Honors Program (1995–2001) and played an invaluable role in its formation and development. Professor Egan’s sense of humor, amiability, modesty, and dedication to intellectual excellence shaped the program into the respected offering it is today.

In recognition of Professor Egan and his accomplishments, the Student Advisory Board presents the Hugh Egan Scholar Award to the graduating student who best embodies the aforementioned qualities.

Past Hugh Egan Scholars

  • 2015  Holland Garbacz
  • 2014  Grace Wivell
  • 2013  Valerie Falconieri
  • 2012  Alana Koehler
  • 2011  Kevin Fish
  • 2010  Katie Wright
  • 2009  Jason Diaz
  • 2008  Katrina Brown, Lauren Hall
  • 2007  Roberta Barki
  • 2006  David Syracuse
  • 2005  Matt Camporese, Danielle Costa
  • 2004  Megan D. Sullivan
  • 2003  Nathan Wendlowsky
  • 2002  Michael Nordquist
  • 2001  Matthew Payne