Department Awards

Harold Emery Writing Award (History)

The Prize
The Harold Emery Writing Award was established in 2004 in honor of Professor Emery and his 42 years of service to the History department. The winning author(s) receive a plaque signed by each member of the department and a monetary award (the amount varies depending on the number of awardees).

The award is given each spring to the best History 400-level (i.e. seminar, tutorial, or independent study) papers written during the preceding calendar year. Only students who have not graduated and who will be on campus during the spring semester are eligible to submit a paper. Up to four awards may be presented in a given year

Early February

Procedures for Submitting a Paper
Students must submit a copy of their paper to one of the three members of the History Department’s Honors Committee.

The Honors Committee will assess the papers based on criteria considered central to the craft of history. Winning papers must demonstrate excellence in research, argument, effective use of primary and secondary sources, and exemplary writing

Responsibilities of Awardees
Unless a recipient of the award is away from Ithaca as the result of participation in an internship or study abroad program, s/he is expected to refine the paper for public presentation and represent the department at the James J. Whalen Symposium in the spring.


Recipients of the Harold Emery Writing Award

  • 2008: None awarded
  • 2007: Alyssa Gardina, Raechel Lutz, and Shea O’Neill
  • 2006: Gene Schlack
  • 2005: Beth Gardiner and Jared Silva
  • 2004: Doug Fowler
School of Humanities and Sciences  ·  201 Muller Center  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-3102  ·  Full Directory Listing