Ithaca College Board of Trustees Elects New Members, Chair Emeritus

ITHACA, NY­­ -- At its May meeting, the Ithaca College Board of Trustees elected Michael Buck as faculty trustee, Christina Mattin as a term trustee and Douglas Weisman as an alumni trustee. The board also elected Dr. C. William “Bill” Schwab ’68 as chair emeritus.

Buck will serve for three years as the faculty trustee. A clinical associate professor in the Department of Physical Therapy, he has served on numerous department, school and college committees, currently chairing the college’s Academic Advisor Search Committee and co-chairing the Academic Assessment Committee. In addition to his teaching and research, Buck is a licensed athletic trainer and physical therapist. Buck holds a doctorate in educational leadership with a focus on higher education from Touro University International, an M.S. in physical therapy from Arcadia University/Beaver College, and a B.A. in biology/athletic training from Canisius College.

Mattin will serve for four years as a term trustee. Currently a private investor who manages several family hedge funds, Mattin had a long association with the Mearl Corporation, a manufacturer of pigments for the cosmetics and printing industries. Joining the company in 1975, she served as its vice president and director from 1985 to 1996. Under her leadership, the company developed a new division specializing in iridescent films. Mattin holds a bachelor’s degree from Johns Hopkins University and is the parent of Edward Fischetti, a 2013 graduate of Ithaca College.

Weisman will serve for three years as an alumni trustee. He is the chairman, founder and co-owner of VideoLink, which provides video production, transmission and creative services for networks and corporations across the country. Before starting VideoLink, Weisman had a longtime television career as a freelance sound technician and then a freelance cameraman for CBS Network News. He also worked for major video production houses and corporate communications offices in New England, serving as a director of photography and producer/director for corporate educational and medical programs. He graduated from the college’s Roy H. Park School of Communications in 1978.

Schwab was a member of the board of trustees for more than two decades, serving as chairman from 2006 until stepping down from the board in 2012. A professor of surgery and former chief of the Division of Traumatology and Surgical Critical Care at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, he was honored at last year’s Commencement ceremony with an honorary Doctor of Letters degree.

In their resolution awarding him chair emeritus status, trustees praised Schwab’s exemplary leadership and mentorship, noting that he “led the institution with an unwavering hand through a presidential transition, oversaw the expansion of the college’s infrastructure and championed an institutional plan that strengthened the college into a strong and nationally recognized, academically competitive comprehensive institution in the field of higher education.”

Also at the meeting, the following trustees were re-elected to three-year terms on the board: chair Thomas Grape, vice chair David LeBow, and term members Christopher LaCroix and Susan Pervi.

Dr. C. William “Bill” Schwab ’68