Ithaca College Quarterly 2004/2
South Hill Today


back   next

Tenure and Promotions

At its February and May meetings the Ithaca College Board of Trustees approved a number of faculty status changes.


Five faculty members were given emeritus status.

Dorothy Buerk, who retired in 2000, joined the biology department in 1978 and subsequently designed and taught the Writing Seminar in Mathematics and First-Year Seminar in Mathematics -- both geared toward helping math-avoidant students change their views and gain confidence in their abilities. Much of her career was devoted to the study of gender and mathematics.

Richard Creel, who retired in 2001, had been a professor of philosophy and religion since 1969. He was regarded by scholars, academic presses, and peer review journals as one of the world's leading experts on various topics within the philosophy of religion. He is currently a member of the editorial board of New Ideas in Psychology, a journal that deals with concepts that bridge philosophy and psychology.

Ahren Sadoff joined the College as an assistant professor in 1965 and was promoted to full professor in 1971. He retired in 2000. The founder of the physics department and Ithaca College's 3-2 engineering program with Cornell University, he was instrumental in establishing a major with exceptional standards and an emphasis on laboratory instruction and student research. AB: (see story, "Science Dynamos")

Botanist Imre Tamas came to the Department of Biology in 1969; he retired in 2002. During his tenure he taught courses for nonmajors including Plants, People, and Food Production, Practical Botany, and Plants and Human Affairs. He has been a visiting scholar/professor at various institutions, including Cornell University, the University of Alberta, and the University of Horticulture and Food Science in Budapest.

Steven Thompson, who retired in 2002, began his career in the biology department in 1968. He served as department chair from 1991 to 1997 and again from 1999 to 2001. Known for going beyond the call of duty, he was awarded the Sears Roebuck Foundation Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award in 1991.


Granted tenure: Zenon Wasyliw (history) and Ernest Nalette (physical therapy; director of the PT department's Rochester center)..

Tenure and Promotion

Granted tenure and promoted to associate professor: Susan Allen-Gil (biology), Mara Alper (television-radio), Diane Birr (music performance), Wanda Dann (mathematics and computer science), Carole Dennis (occupational therapy), Richard Faria (music performance) Keith Kaiser (music education), Read Gainsford (music performance) Diane Long (occupational therapy), Mead Loop (journalism), Paige Morgan (music performance), Timothy Nord (music theory, history, and composition), Jack Rossen (anthropology), Andrew Smith (biology), Cynthia Zablotny (physical therapy).


Promoted from associate to full professor: Asma Barlas (politics), Stephen Clancy (art history), Mary Turner DePalma (psychology), Marian MacCurdy (writing), Hormoz Movassaghi (business administration), Deborah A. Nawoczenski (physical therapy, Rochester), Michael Pagliarulo (physical therapy), Nancy de Villiers Rader (psychology), Mary Ann Rishel (writing), Gordon Rowland (organizational communication, learning, and design), and Osman Yürekli (mathematics and computer science).

Barbara Belyea (physical therapy) was promoted from clinical assistant professor to clinical associate professor; and Ron Denson (writing) and David Flanagan (writing) were promoted from instructor to assistant professor.

Table of Contents


Contacting the College Directories Site Index Ithaca College Home Ithaca College Home Office of Creative Services, August 13, 2004