Information Technology is excited to announce with the Sakai 12 upgrade instructors can now delete their own course sites. Sakai site owners are encouraged to review course and project sites and delete any sites which are no longer referenced. We recommend starting with sites created before 2015.
It only takes a few minutes to delete a site following the instructions in the IT Knowledge Base article How to Delete a Sakai Site. In case of error, site owners can recover any sites marked for deletion until the end of the term when all deleted sites are purged from the system.
If you want to keep any of the files before you delete a site we recommended moving the files to our other software systems including: media.ithaca.edu (Kaltura) for audio/video, Leganto for e-reserves and digital files, or utilizing Microsoft Office OneDrive.
If you need assistance transferring content, please reach out to the Teaching & Learning with Technology team by submitting a Service Request Ticket, email the Instructional Media Lab (firstname.lastname@example.org) or stop by the IML in Job 102 during open office hours Monday-Thursday 9:00am – 5:30pm, Friday 9:00am – 5:00pm.