Chamber Orchestra Composition Competition


The Ithaca College Chamber Orchestra has awarded Diego Vega first place in the 2010-2011 Chamber Orchestra Composition Competition.  Vega, a well-known and active Columbian composer, was one of over 100 strong applicants to enter the competition. Composers submitted three sample works and a resume, and the winning composer has been invited to write a new work for a May 2011 performance. In addition to the world premiere performance, Vega will receive a prize of $1000, up to $500 in travel funding, and up to $200 for hotel costs for two nights.  The following composers made it to the Finalist round:

Alford, Travis
Ha, Moon
Arrell, Chris
Meier, Evan
Honstein, Robert
Van Brink, Matt
Barnett, Michael
Silverman, Adam
McManus, Andrew
Shen, Yiwen
Joyce, Molly
Foumai, Michael
Dempster, Tom
Hass, Jeffrey
Hough, Matthew

Robert Honstein received the Honorable Mention award.  

For more information about the ICCO, please visit: /music/ensembles/chamberorchestra/





School of Music  ·  3322 Whalen Center  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-3171  ·  Full Directory Listing