What privacy options do groups have?
The "Groups" tool in myHome Community provides a number of different settings that allow the group creator to control who can see the group, and how people come to be members.
The three most useful possibilities are:
No one will know this group exists until the group owner, or another member (optionally) invites them, and they join.
To achieve this: choose "New members must request approval to join", "No, exclude this group from search/browse results", "Who can see this group: only group members"
Public Listed / Private Content
This kind of group will show up for everyone who is browsing groups, but they won't be able to see any of the content / members / discussions until they join. They do this by requesting membership, or by being invited.
To achieve this: choose "New members must request approval to join", "Yes, include this group in search/browse results.", "Who can see this group: only group members"
Open Public Group
This type of group is listed for all to see, and anyone in the community can read the discussions, see the members list, view comments, etc.. But, only members can post content. Usually this kind of group will be open so anyone can join the group without approval.
To achieve this: choose "New members can join without approval", "Yes, include this group in search/browse results", "Who can see this group: Entire Ithaca College Community"
There are even more possibilities than the three listed here. For example, groups can be set up so only the group owner/officers can post content. We encourage you to go into your group's settings and take a look at what the options are and choose those that will fit your needs best.