News Releases

Ithaca College Board of Trustees Grants Tenure, Promotion and Emeritus Status

 ITHACA, NY — At its February meeting, the Ithaca College Board of Trustees granted emeritus/a status to 9 former faculty members and awarded promotions and tenure to 13 current faculty members.

The following faculty were awarded tenure and promoted from assistant to associate professor:

Department of English

  • Elizabeth Bleicher, who received her Ph.D. and M.A. from the University of Southern California and an M.A. and B.A. from Georgetown University.

Department of Health Promotion and Physical Education

  • Hongwei Guan, who received his Ph.D. from Indiana University and M.Ed. and B.S. from Beijing University of Physical Education (China).
  • Julia Lapp, who received her Ph.D. and M.S. from the University of Connecticut and B.A. from Elmira College.

Department of History

  • Pearl Ponce, who received her Ph.D. and M.A. from Harvard University, an M.A. from Ohio University and a B.A. from Pomona College.

Department of Music Theory, History, and Composition

  • Deborah Rifkin, who received her Ph.D. from Eastman School of Music, M.M. from the University of Michigan and B.A. from Binghamton University.

Department of Performance Studies

  • Jeffery Meyer, who received his D.M.A. and M.M. from the State University of New York, Stony Brook, and B.M. from Lawrence University.

Department of Sociology

  • Alicia Swords, who received her Ph.D. and M.S. from Cornell University and B.A. from Oberlin College.

Department of Sport Management and Media

  • Annemarie Farrell, who received her Ph.D. and M.A. from Ohio State University and B.A. from Mount Holyoke College.

Department of Strategic Communication

  • Dennis Charsky, who received his Ph.D. from the University of Northern Colorado, M.S. from Binghamton University and B.A. from Ithaca College.
  • Arhlene Flowers, who received her M.P.S. from the New School for Social Research and B.A. from New York University.
  • Cory Young, who received her Ph.D., M.A. and B.A. from Bowling Green State University and an M.S. from the University of Birmingham (England).

Department of Writing

  • Catherine Taylor, who received her Ph.D. from Duke University and B.A. from Cornell University.
  • Jack Wang, who received his Ph.D. from Florida State University, M.F.A. from the University of Arizona and B.Sc. from the University of Toronto (Canada).

Peter Seligmann, who taught in the Department of Physics and passed away in 2002, was posthumously named professor emeritus. The following retired faculty members were named professor emeritus/a:

Department of Anthropology

  • Barbara Johnson, who retired in 2007.

Department of Art

  • Joy Adams, who retired in 2006.
  • Arthur “Harry” McCue, who retired in 2010.

Department of English

  • Fred Madden, who retired in 2006.
  • Jane Vogel, who retired in 2007.

Gerontology Institute

  • John Krout, who retired in 2011.

Department of Recreation & Leisure Studies

  • Sarah Rich, who retired in 1997.

Department of Sociology

  • Susanne Morgan, who retired in 2011.