Annual Fall Awards

The Presidential Scholar award program was established to honor outstanding student academic performance combined with exceptional depth and breadth of interest and outstanding community service. Named after the first four past presidents of Phi Kappa Phi, who were distinguished Ithaca College faculty members, the awards are thus named the Shirley Hockett Award, the John Bernard Award, the John Harcourt Award, and the Raquib Zaman Award.

The Ithaca College chapter of Phi Kappa Phi held its annual Fall Awards & Induction Ceremony on Friday, November 10, 2017 at 4:00 PM in Clark Lounge, Campus Center. See Event Photos Here.


The Shirley Hockett Scholar: CYNTHIA BECKER, Music & Biology
Nominating Faculty Members: Assistant Professor Te-Wen Lo, Department of Biology

Cynthia is a senior biology major in the School of Humanities and Sciences and a music major in the School of Music. As a biology major, she enjoys the research opportunities she participates in both on campus and off campus. She works with her Ithaca College advisor, Dr. Te-Wen Lo, to investigate genes involved with Rb, a human tumor suppressor gene, by using the model organism, C. elegans. Off campus, she recently worked at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, where she investigated the microbiome of coral reef seawater affected by aquaculture. She also has served as a teaching assistant for multiple science classes. As an avid bassoonist in the IC music school, Cynthia has performed with the Wind Ensemble and Symphony Orchestra. She also regularly engages in community music events, playing in chamber ensembles and local theatre ensembles.

The John Harcourt Scholar: ANNA GARDNER, Film, Photography, and Visual Arts & Art History
Nominating Faculty Member: Chair and Associate Professor of Art History

Anna Gardner is a double major in Film, Photography, and Visuals Arts and Art History, and is a member of the Honors Program. This past spring, Anna’s leadership roles on campus included Vice President of Campus Affairs for the Ithaca College Student Governance Council, president of Feminists United, marketing chair for IC Red Cross, programming director for The Studio at Ithaca College, and community director for VIC Radio. She continued volunteer work assisting in the youth services department at Tompkins County Public Library, and serving as the student participant leader for an alternative spring break trip to Detroit, MI. Anna was inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi and Lambda Pi Eta and was awarded the William A. Scoones Community Service Award from the Office of Student Engagement and Multicultural Affairs and the Alumna Award of Excellence from New York Women in Communications, Inc. She also presented at the Fifth Annual Society of Cinema and Media Studies Undergraduate national conference in 2017. This past summer, Anna served as a theatrical department intern for Kino Lorber, Inc. in New York, NY.

The John Bernard Scholar: JESSE HSU, Chemistry & Physics
Nominating Faculty Member: Professor Michael Haaf, Chemistry Department

Jesse majors in chemistry and physics in the School of Humanities and Sciences at Ithaca College. A consistent member of the Dean’s List at Ithaca College, Jesse has also received the ALANA Silver Superior Junior Award, the Bergmark Chemistry Scholarship, and the American Chemical Society (ACS) Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry. This past summer, Jesse spent 10 weeks at Georgetown University conducting research in the field of materials physics with a project titled, “Surface-Crosslinked Polymer Nanoparticles as Vessels for MRI Contrast Agents.” Continuing a separate research project at Ithaca College with chemistry professor Dr. Michael Haaf, he has also been working to develop new functionalized polymers and is planning to present at the ACS National Meeting in March 2018. In addition to his academic pursuits, he enjoys being an active member of the Ithaca College Cello Studio through weekly lessons and chamber music groups. He also engages in community service through weekly organic chemistry tutoring, annual chemistry club community outreach events, and volunteer shifts in his hometown as an emergency medical technician.

The Raquib Zaman Scholar: CHANEL UNDERWOOD, Business Administration
Nominating Faculty Member: Dean Sean Reid, School of Business

Chanel is well-known in the School of Business and in the finance department as one of Ithaca College’s top students. Her accomplishments include membership in Beta Gamma Sigma (business), Omicron Delta Epsilon (economics), and Oracle Honor Societies; MLK Scholar; Peggy Ryan Williams Award for Academic & Community Leadership; Gold Senior Award for Academic Excellence; President of the National Association of Black Accountants (NABA); Treasurer of the Ithaca College African-Latino Society; and continuous semesters on the School of Business Dean’s List with a cumulative GPA of 3.95. Chanel volunteers at the local nursing home weekly, is a mentor to younger students, and remains incredibly humble given all her impeccable accomplishments. Chanel recently returned from the NABA annual collegiate conference in Norfolk, VA with multiple offers from some of the most prestigious firms in the financial services industry, including Ernst & Young, one of the largest financial firms in the world.

Ithaca College Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi Presidential Scholar Award Winners


Shirley Hockett Award

John Bernard Award

John Harcourt Award

Raquib Zaman Award

2016 Timothy Conners Margaret Butler Christina Tudor Carson Mohler
2015 Kaitlyn Dehority Sean Themea Danice Kelley Merrideth Maley
2014 Rachel Snyder Curt McConnell Candace Burton Carin Pracht
2013 Benjamin Van De Water Andrew Becker Macy O'Hearn Lee Henig


Sam Gates

Maria Barton

Brianna Gobetz

Katherine Oertel


Miriam Schildkret

Kaylee Underkofler

Alana Koehler

Macy Sutton


Allyce Barron

Jillian Neeley

Abigail Jamiel

Jacquelyn Simone


Madeline Smith

Matthew Zeitler

Joseph Fraioli

Allison Walker


Jill Cadby

Janelle Mackereth

Elizabeth Getman

Sarah Brylinsky


Nicole Cade

Lia Stelljes

Dana Cizmas

Stephanie Elowson


Nicholas Kunkle

Nitan Rajan

Megan Keenan

Michael Salvaggio


Dominic DiOrio

Matthew Pearsall

Andrew Dippell

Joseph Wladkowski


Sara Barasch

Barbara Bujak

Kristen Ryczak

Syrena Shirley


Todd Sandstrom

Matthew Sprague

Megan Sullivan

Nicole DeVita


Andrea Vedock

Tracy Robinson

Betsy Leach

Elizabeth Davis


Brian DeMaris

Amanda Rudy

Heather Harmon

Zachary Miner


Paul Fowler

Michelle Fura

Melissa Bernardin

Daniel Sternberg


Hans Van Der Schaaf

Brin Tucker

Karin ChunTaite

Dylon Curatolo


Matthew Hoch

Elizabeth Pender

Michele Moritis

Patrice Lyons


Shawna Cutting

Michael Axtell

Amy Childers

Anthony DeSare


Heather Young

Julie Quimby

Anna Thomas

Lisa Kline


Teresa Lemery

Lawrence D. Finger

Carrie Perfetti

Thomas Hoaglin


Pablo Cora

Angela Boniello

Natalya Shneyder

Marc Maloney


Ann Stewart

Monica Srodon

Thomas Boyd

Angel Houghton


Jennifer Kwiecinsky

Thomas Boyd

Lisel Gorell

Erika Schweitzer


Kirk Wallace

Jennie Menickelli

Lisa Sharfstein

Cynthia Warnokowski


Walter Eppich

Kristen Bjornberg

Susan Werking

John Sperry


Wendy Schaefer

Michelle Gibbons

Coleen Hubler

Heather Trypuc


Steven D. Wickham

Joseph M. Bliss

Richard E. Graef

Michele A. Tesbir


Jean M. Rodriguez

Teresa L. Longin

Jacqueline K. Szablewski

PKP Chapter President's Award

  • Dane Cash, 1997

The Michael Twomey Award

  • Kimberly Huth, 2002