The Ithacan Wins Columbia Scholastic Press Association Silver Crown and “Apple Award” for Best of Show at National College Media Convention

The Ithacan was presented with a Silver Crown award by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association at the spring National College Media Convention on March 12 at the Sheraton Times Square Hotel in New York City. The Crown Awards are the highest honors presented by CSPA.

The award was in the “hybrid” category, described as “a publication that works to combine their digital and print publications as one.” The award was for work produced during the 2015–16 academic year (Kira Maddox ’16, editor-in-chief).

In addition, The Ithacan took the First Place “Apple Award” for Best Newspaper in the convention’s Best of Show awards at the March 14 closing session.

Founded in 1925, the CSPA is owned by Columbia University and operated as a program affiliated with its Graduate School of Journalism. The Crown Awards, first presented in 1982, are the organization's highest recognition of overall excellence.

[In photo, from left: Ithacan Assistant Multimedia Editor Connor Duffy ’20, Assistant Life & Culture Editor Jake Leary ’20, CSPA Executive Director Edmund Sullivan, Assistant Photo Editor Connor Lange ’19 and Assistant Multimedia Editor Matt Mahoney ’20.