About the Golden Doorknob Awards


Ithaca College professor emeritus of cinema and photography Gustav "Skip" Landen started the Golden Doorknob competition in 1970 and continued it until his retirement in 1991. Back in those days the films were silent, black and white, and all film students had the same assignment: make a very short film that presents the most imaginative way to kill someone with a doorknob.

The contest was revived in 2009.

2014-2015 Screening and Awards Ceremony

The event celebrated the 45th Anniversary of the Golden Doorknobs, and was hosted by Joe Pera '10.

First Place: Broken Fate
By Robert Adler ’16, Skyler Bocciolatt ’16, Canon Brownell ’15, and Erin Nydick ’16


Second Place: Knob of the Beholder
By Clinton Butler ’15 and Jake Witterschein ’15

Third Place: Psycho
Bridget Moore '15 and Kate Wareham '15

Parkie 100: Operation Golden Doorknob
By Mikey Carlson, Josie Cyrus ’18, Luke Harbur ’18, Mary Herber ’17, Woody Minshew ’18, Grace Oliver ’18, Chelsea Rance ’18, Tyler Sapp ’18, and Stephanie Seiden ’18

Animation: Jennifer and the Bleeding Eyeball
Joseph Fasolino ’15

Producer's Pick: Rob the Doorknob
Josh Greenfield '16

To view other Doorknob entries, click here.

The winning films were also screened for critique by:

  • Bill Carraro ’81, executive producer, Tower Heist and The Adjustment Bureau
  • Dan Heffner ’78, executive producer, the SAW franchise
  • David Spiegelman ’80, president, domestic television & digital distribution at Relativity Media, LLC


Roy H. Park School of Communications  ·  311 Park Hall  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-1021  ·  Full Directory Listing