Ithaca College Chapter 201
Philosophia Krateito Phonton

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the only national honor society which recognizes and encourages superior scholarship in all disciplines of higher education. The Greek letters Phi Kappa Phi stand for Philosophia Krateito Phonton -- “let the love of learning rule humanity.” Over its 117-year history the society has grown to more than 300 chapters with more than 1 million active members.

For more information, contact Ithaca College chapter president,
Dr. Hormoz Movassaghi or email


Fall Awards and Induction Ceremony - November 4, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. in Klingenstein Lounge, Campus Center. See Event Photos here.

  • Four Presidential Scholar Awards are given out each year to honor outstanding student academic achievement. Each award is named after the first four Ithaca College chapter Phi Kappa Phi presidents. The awards are thus named the Shirley Hockett Award, the John Bernard Award, the John Harcourt Award, and the Raquib Zaman Award.
  • Induction of faculty and professional staff into the membership.

Spring Induction Ceremony - March 23, 2017 at 7:00 p.m. in Hockett Family Recital Hall, Whalen Center for Music. Reception to follow at 8:15 p.m. in McHenry Lobby.