Thank you to everyone who attended and participated in our 50 Years in Chemistry celebration! Please click here for details and photos of the event. It was an amazing event; a great time to gather with former faculty and friends, reminisce about the department, and also introduce you to our current chemistry and biochemistry majors. The students enjoyed discussing their research with you during the poster presentations, and greatly appreciated the time and advice that so many of you gave during the career panel.

This event was also a wonderful fundraising opportunity for our department. We want to especially thank everyone that contributed to our brand new endowed Alumni Research Fund, which will help to support many aspects of student/faculty research.

Announcing the new Dr. Glenn C. Vogel and Dr. Marjorie R. Chelly (`94) Endowed Scholarship Award!

We want to specifically acknowledge Dr. Majorie Chelly (`94), who established the Glenn C. Vogel and Majorie R. Chelly award. This award is given to a student that embodies Dr. Chelly’s tremendous work ethic, and has achieved excellence through extraordinary effort. The award will be used to fund the recipient's travel to a national conference. The inaugural award was given to Kevin Litwin (`13), a senior biochemistry major who will be presenting his research with Professor Scott Ulrich at the ACS conference in New Orleans in April. Congratulations to Kevin! And another huge thank you to Dr. Chelly for her generous support of the IC chemistry program.

The Heinz and Judy Koch Award

We also want to remind you about the Heinz and Judy Koch Research Award, an endowed fund established to support undergraduate research during the summer. Specifically, the award represents a generous summer stipend for one outstanding undergraduate who plans to do research in collaboration with an IC faculty member over the summer. The award is competitive, and winning it is considered a big honor. This is a perfect way to recognize and remember Heinz and Judy's amazing contributions to the department over the past several decades!

If you’d like to make a contribution to any of these funds, please click here and indicate the award you’d like to support in the "other designation" field on the donation form.

For more information about these (and other) funds, or if you have any questions about contributing, please contact Jennifer Gabriel (jgabriel@ithaca.edu) in the Alumni Office.

Thank you again for a remarkable event!

Mike Haaf, Associate Professor, `94

Award Recipients

The Heinz and Judy Koch Research Fund
2014 - Katrina Piemonte ('16)

The Dr. Glenn C. Vogel and Dr. Marjorie R. Chelly (`94) Award
2015 Recipient: Taylor Reeves ('16)