This free concert features duets, trios, and quartets of chamber music, exploring the use of polyphony across three different composer.

Chamber music concerts are special in the musical landscape, collaborations between musicians playing different instruments, listening to each other, moving close to the edge, and emphasizing details in texture, tone, and approach. It is one of the most intimate--and thrilling--concert experiences, especially with these five passionate virtuosos.

FLEFF Chamber Concert

Tuesday, March 28
7:00 p.m.
Hockett Family Recital Hall
Whalen Music Center
Ithaca College

Live, in-person, and free

About the Program

This chamber music program engages with a unique moment in European music history.

Both the Dvorak F minor piano trio and the Faure C minor piano quartet were completed in 1883.

I thought pairing these two very different works would be interesting, since they embody the aesthetic tensions of this extraordinary period. One work looks backwards to the aesthetics of the age of musical Romanticism, while the other points forward, however gently, to Modernism.

1883 also happens to be the year Richard Wagner died.

Because his compositions occupied an immense role in this 19th century tension between Romanticism and Modernism, I thought starting with a short work of his would be a fun way to open up the vacillations and crossings between these two poles.

The concert program moves from a duet, to a trio, to a quartet, building up the sounds of 1883.

--Vadim Serebryany



(German, 1861)
Richard Wagner (18113-1883)

Christina Bouey, violin
Vadim Serebryany, piano

Piano trio in F minor
(Czech, 1883)
Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

Christina Bouey, violin
Elizabeth Simkin, cello
Vadim Serebryany, piano


Piano quartet in C minor, op. 15
(France, 1883)
Gabriel Fauré (1845-1883)

Christina Bouey, violin
Kyle Armbrust, viola
Greg Hesselink, cello
Vadim Serebryany, piano