What Is It?

There is a critical need for K-12 teachers of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). The Ithaca College Robert Noyce Teaching Scholarship program seeks to encourage talented STEM majors students or graduates interested in STEM-focused childhood education to pursue teaching careers in high-need schools in the fields of Agriculture, Biology, Chemistry, STEM-focused Childhood Education, Earth Science, Mathematics, and Physics. The program provides $10,000 - $25,000 scholarships toward the cost of attendance at Ithaca College. After you graduate, we continue to mentor and support you as you begin teaching.

NOTE (Jan 19, 2018): We are waiting to hear from the National Science Foundation on whether our grant proposal to fund this program for another five years is selected for funding. We hope to hear from them within the next two months.

How Does it Work for Undergraduate Candidates?

  • The pre-application phase of the program begins in your junior year. You’ll take an early field experience course in which you observe and participate in a middle-school classroom; you’ll also take a linking course in which you connect ideas from your undergraduate mathematics and science classes to concepts that you’ll teach in middle and high school.
  • Scholarship applications are due in the spring semester.
  • In your senior year, you will complete a math or science-related major, take education courses, spend a week at Frederick Douglass Academy in New York City, and work in tutoring experiences both on- and off-campus.
  • Scholars enroll in IC’s MAT program, in which you tutor high school students and spend a semester teaching in middle and high schools under the guidance of IC faculty and mentor teachers.
  • After you graduate, you will teach for four years in a high-need school district. You’ll return to IC during the summers for workshops and conferences, and IC faculty will visit you at your own school.

Master of Arts in Teaching in Adolescence Education and Master of Science in Childhood Education Only Tracks

  • We especially encourage outstanding candidates admitted to our M.A.T. in Adolescence Education program in Agricultural Education, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Mathematics, and Physics and our Master of Science in Childhood Education to apply for a scholarship in their graduate year. Contact the project director Professor Rogers, mrogers@ithaca.edu, for more information about applying.
Ithaca College's Performance-based Physics Teaching Laboratory
Contact Information

Education Department

Linda Hanrahan
194g Phillips Hall
lhanrahan@ithaca.edu
274-3147

Physics Department

Bodhi Rogers
265 Center for Natural Sciences
mrogers@ithaca.edu
274-3963

Matt Price
266 Center for Natural Sciences
mprice@ithaca.edu
274-3849

Math Department

Dave Brown
402a Williams Hall
dabrown@ithaca.edu
274-7375

Aaron Weinberg
311c Williams Hall
aweinberg@ithaca.edu
274-7081

Teachers in Residence

Marty Alderman
273 Center for Natural Sciences
malderman@ithaca.edu
274-3963

Jim Overhiser
273 Center for Natural Sciences
joverhiser@ithaca.edu
274-3963

Jim Murphy
273 Center for Natural Sciences
jmurphy5@ithaca.edu
274-3963