The Annual IZZY Award

The Izzy Award is named after maverick journalist I. F. "Izzy" Stone, who launched I. F. Stone's Weekly in 1953 and exposed government deception, McCarthyism, and racial bigotry. Presented by the Park Center for Independent Media annually for "outstanding achievement in independent media," the Izzy Award goes to an independent outlet, journalist, or producer for contributions to our culture, politics, or journalism created outside traditional corporate structures.

Nominations Open for 12th Annual ‘Izzy Award’ for Independent Media

With the Izzy Award set to celebrate its 12th year, award nominations are now open for work produced in the calendar year 2019. The annual honor for outstanding achievement in independent media — named after legendary journalist I. F. “Izzy” Stone — is presented by the Park Center for Independent Media (PCIM).

This year’s Izzy Award will be given for work published, broadcast or posted in 2019 by an independent media outlet, journalist or producer. The award may relate to a single piece or a body of work. Journalists, academics and the public at large may submit nominations by the February 3, 2020 (midnight), deadline. The winner will be announced early next spring, with an award ceremony to follow in April 2020.

Nominations should be submitted via a brief email (250 words or less) that includes supporting web links (no more than six) and/or attached materials to Brandy Hawley at bhawley@ithaca.edu.

“This year has once again highlighted the limitations of mainstream corporate media,” said PCIM director Raza Rumi. “The independent outlets boldly covered issues such as immigration, racial violence, voter suppression, and climate change and stirred national conversations. The 12th Izzy Award will honor independent journalism that places public interest above all other considerations.”

Past winners include Amy Goodman, Jeremy Scahill, Naomi Klein, John Carlos Frey, Glenn Greenwald, Todd Miller and independent news sources such as “City Limits” and “Mother Jones.”

View the full press release here.

The eleventh annual Izzy Award was presented in 2019 to journalists LAURA FLANDERS, DAVE LINDORF and AARON MATÉ and publication EARTH ISLAND JOURNAL.

The tenth annual Izzy Award was presented in 2018 to journalists LEE FANG, SHARON LERNER, DAHR JAMAIL and TODD MILLER.

The ninth annual Izzy Award was presented in 2017 to journalists SHANE BAUER, ARI BERMAN, SETH FREED WESSLER and "AMERICA DIVIDED."

The eighth annual Izzy Award was presented in 2016 to INSIDE CLIMATE NEWS and independent journalists JAMIE KELVEN and BRANDON SMITH.

The seventh annual Izzy Award was presented in 2015 to author NAOMI KLEIN and Investigative journalist DAVID SIROTA.

The sixth annual Izzy Award was presented in 2014 to independent reporter JOHN CARLOS FREY and author NICK TURSE.

The fifth annual Izzy Award was presented in 2013 to the nonprofit news outlet MOTHER JONES.

The fourth annual Izzy Award was presented in 2012 toDemocracy Now! correspondent SHARIF ABDEL KOUDDOUS and to the CENTER FOR MEDIA AND DEMOCRACY for its work on "ALEC Exposed."

The third annual Izzy Award was presented in 2011 to independent journalist ROBERT SCHEER and independent magazine CITY LIMITS.

The second annual Izzy Award was presented in 2010 to independent journalist JEREMY SCAHILL.

The inaugural Izzy Award was presented in 2009 to blogger GLENN GREENWALD and Democracy Now! host and executive producer AMY GOODMAN.