Previous Award Recipients

Being a leader of color on campus doesn't mean I don't struggle with feelings of inferiority, but it means that I must be unafraid of taking up space in spaces not designed for me.

Annis Bell '20 | Chung/Thorpe Awardee

The Chawla/Ochoa Academic Achievement Award

Presented to students who have shown a commitment to enhancing their educational experience through research, conference presentations, and published works, while maintaining a high level of academic achievement (cumulative 3.3 GPA or higher). 

Yemi AfolabiComputer Science

Diana CastilloJournalism with minors in Latinx Studies & Education Studies

Guillermina Castro, Accounting & Business Administration with a concentration in Finance

Margaret ChanMusic Education

Quenton Kimble, Communication Studies

Aisha Mae MughalPolitics with minors in Spanish & Asian American Studies


The Chung/Thorpe Leadership Award

Presented to students who have increased the profile of the community of color through continued participation in leadership roles throughout their Ithaca College experience.

Annis BellSpeech-Language Pathology & Audiology with minors in Deaf Studies & Education Studies

David BlitzmanPolitics with a Legal Studies minor

Mollie McKinneyWriting for Film, TV, and Emerging Media with a Sociology minor

Rachel RatnerClinical Health Studies with minors in Psychology & Health


The Chávez/Lorde Social Justice Award

Presented to students who have demonstrated a strong dedication to social change for Ithaca College and the local community through various platforms, projects, or initiatives. 

Jada Boggs, Theatre Studies with a Communication Studies minor

Calissa BrownAnthropology with minors in African Diaspora & Latinx Studies

Emmanuel CandelarioSociology with a minor in Identities within Oppressed Communities

Devon MorrisClinical Health Studies/Physical Therapy with a Nutrition Promotion minor

Alexander PerrySociology with a Spanish minor


The Du Bois/Mandela Award for Scholarship, Leadership, and Service

Presented to students for their significant scholarly achievements (cumulative 3.5 GPA or above) coupled with exemplary contributions to the campus and local community through service and continued civic engagement.

Urja BhatiaApplied Psychology with a Neuroscience minor

Tiranke KandeSociology with minors in Education Studies & Counseling

Lexy MasonCommunication Studies

Keanna Morales, Occupational Therapy with a Chemistry minor

Breana Nieves VergaraSociology with minors in Education Studies & Latinx Studies

Alexzandria SanchezJournalism with minors in Politics & Latinx Studies

Katelyn TaiMusic Education


The Gloria A. Hobbs Inspiration Award

Presented to students who have shown empathy, helpfulness, and a willingness to go above and beyond in support of their peers throughout their undergraduate experience.

Christopher AcostaSociology with minors in Italian & Spanish

Oluwashina AliweriHealth Care Management with a Business Administration minor

Justina BethuneArchitectural Studies with minors in Art & African Diaspora

Erika FortuneCommunications Management & Design with a Web Programming minor

Abigail MejiaCinema & Photography with an Environmental Studies minor

Bianca Mestiza, Journalism with minors in International Politics & Communication Management & Design

Pallas-Amenah MorganWriting for Film, TV, and Emerging Media

Margaret Mowrer, Integrated Marketing Communications & Spanish with a Translation Studies minor 

Noella MpingaWriting for Film, TV, and Emerging Media

Farwa Shakeel, Economics & International Politics