Katharyn Howd Machan

Professor, Writing
School: School of Humanities and Sciences


Published Poetry Collections

Katharyn Howd Machan has published more than 1,500 poems in numerous local, regional, national, and international magazines. Her work has also appeared in more than 70 anthologies and textbooks. Here is a list of her published collections:

  • A Slow Bottle of Wine (The Comstock Writers, Inc., 2020-winner, international competition)
  • What the Piper Promised (Alexandria Quarterly Press, 2018–winner, international competition)
  • Katharyn Howd Machan: Selected Poems (FutureCycle Press, 2018)
  • Secret Music: Voices from Redwing, 1888 (Cayuga Lake Books 2018)
  • Her Small Feet, Her Red Fur (Zoetic Press, 2017)
  • Dreaming Turquoise (Red Berry Editions, 2017—winner, international competition)
  • Dark Matters (FutureCycle Press, 2017)
  • Wild Grapes: Poems of Fox (Finishing Line Press, 2014—first runner-up, international competition)
  • H (Gribble Press, 2014—winner, international competition)
  • Belly Words: Poems of Dance (Split Oak Press, 2009)
  • When She’s Asked to Think of Colors (Palettes & Quills, 2009—winner, international competition)
  • The Professor Poems (Main Street Rag Publishing Company, 2008—Editor’s Choice Award, international competition)
  • Flags (Pudding House Publications, 2007—finalist, international competition)
  • Redwing: Voices from 1888 (FootHills Publishing, 2005)
  • Sleeping with the Dead (Finishing Line Press, 2004–winner, international competition)
  • Greatest Hits (Pudding House Publications, 2004)
  • Wise Woman (Anabiosis Press, 2003–winner, international competition)
  • Dreaming How the House of Love Begins (Pudding House Publications, 2002)
  • Skyros (Foothills Publishing, 2001)
  • Key West (Sometimes Y Publications, 1999)
  • Delilah’s Veils (Sometimes Y Publications, 1999)
  • The Flames They Are (Sometimes Y Publications, 1998)
  • Belly Words (Sometimes Y Publications, 1994)
  • The Kitchen of Your Dreams (Thorntree Press, 1992–winner, international competition)
  • Redwing Women (CrazyQuilt Press, 1989–winner, international competition)
  • From Redwing (Foothills Publishing, 1988)
  • Redwing Voices1888 (Dawn Valley Press, 1988)
  • When She Was the Good-Time Girl (The Signpost Press, 1987–international winner)
  • Along the Rain Black Road (The Camel Press, 1986)
  • Women: A Pocket Book (Grass Roots Press, 1983)
  • Writing Home, with Barbara Crooker (Gehry Press, 1983)
  • The Raccoon Book (McBooks Press, 1982)
  • Seneca Street Poems (Coalition of Publishers for Employment, 1982)
  • Conversations (Liberty Press, 1982)
  • Where the Foxes Say Goodnight (Scarlet Ibis Press, 1981)   
  • Looking for the Witches (Fine-Arts Bluesband & Poetry Press, 1980)
  • The Book of the Raccoon (Gehry Press, 1977)
  • The Wind in the Pear Tree (privately printed, 1972) 
  • Bird on a Wire, with Kenneth Winchester (privately printed, 1970)