Ithaca College Quarterly 2005/1


back  next

South Hill Today

Student Media Awards

The Ithacan, the College's weekly student newspaper, won the Associated Collegiate Press's Pacemaker Award. Often referred to as the Pulitzer Prize of collegiate journalism, the Pacemaker recognizes overall excellence in coverage, content, writing and reporting quality, design, photography, graphics, and leadership on the opinion page. The honor was given to newspapers produced in the 2004-5 academic year under the editorship of Anne K. Walters '05, who is now an intern at the Chronicle of Higher Education.

The Ithacan also won fourth place in the convention's best of show competition, which judges a single issue. In addition, journalism and politics major Chris Baxter '08 won second place in the best news story category in the story of the year competition for "Net Fix," a piece that explored student addiction to the Internet.

Meanwhile, Ithaca College Television (ICTV) won top honors in five categories, more than any other college television station in the nation, in a competition sponsored by Collegiate Broadcasters. In the Best TV Comedy category, Jesse Porter '05 and Heather Lew '06 won with "The Solarium." Filmmakers Matt Antalek '06, Dan Shott '06, Jaime Foster '06, and Rachel Webster '06 finished first in the best documentary/public affairs category with "Mad Cow Crusaders." "My Loyal Imposters #3" by Matt Wiener '05 and Andrea Adams '06 topped the best drama category. First place in the best promo category went to "The Ithacan Online" by Rob Edwards '05. The winner in the best student media website category was Peter Berg '07 for, the station's website.

-- Keith Davis


ICTV manager Matt Antalek '06 and staff members Nathan Lindberg '06 and Matt Millson '06


Chris Wheatley '81, M.S. '98

back to SOUTH HILL TODAY home page

Table of Contents ICQ Home


Contacting the College Directories Site Index Ithaca College Home Ithaca College Home Office of Creative Services, January 17, 2006