Dear campus community,

I hope you will join me in offering deep congratulations to the members of the 2019-20 President’s Fellows cohort: two faculty, two staff members, and two students who will be exploring innovative ideas and engaging with leaders on and off campus next academic year.

The 2019-20 President’s Fellows are:


Judith Pena-Shaff, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Psychology. Area of interest: Recruitment and retention of faculty of color

Tom Swensen, Professor and Chair, Department of Exercise and Sport Sciences. Area of interest: Curriculum and academic partnerships


Laurie Pancoast, Advancement Assistant. Area of interest: Employee engagement and strategic plan implementation

Sue Shutts, Warehouse Operations Manager. Area of interest: Financial stewardship and Enterprise Resource Planning


Christine King ’20, Health Sciences. Area of interest: Campus-wide transformations for social change

Wren Murray ’20, Music. Area of interest: Academic and student affairs and concepts of togetherness

Our fellows will work collaboratively with leaders and staff in their areas of interest, and will have opportunities to come together as a cohort for focused, interdisciplinary learning and professional development.

When I created the fellows program in November 2017, I hoped to provide a springboard for innovative thinking, strong partnerships, and collaborative leadership. The initiatives that our new fellows plan to tackle not only embrace these intentions, but speak to their deep love of this institution blended with a real desire to take their skills and knowledge to the next level to contribute to its success. This is at the heart of who we are as an IC community.

I want to extend my deepest thanks to all who applied to be a fellow this year, and I want offer my heartfelt congratulations, once more, to our second cohort of President’s Fellows. I look forward to seeing all they will accomplish.

All my best,

Shirley M. Collado