S'Park Media Mentors Recognized for their Achievements

By: Bailey Reagan, '12 

For five high school teachers, Columbus Day served as more than just a day off from work. This day served as a special day where each was recognized with a Roy H. Park School of Communications S’Park Media Mentor Award.

The S’Park Media Mentor Award is given to high school teachers who ignite a passion for media in students. Recipients are chosen after a nationwide search and are not only applauded for their impact on young people, but for the success of their personal careers and their contributions to the field of communications.

This year’s recipients were Jill Cook (Brookfield Central High School – Brookfield, WI), Nichole Lemmon (Central High School – Springfield, MO), Liz Palmer (duPont Manual High School – Louisville, KY), Christopher Schwalm (Cedar Crest High School – Lebanon, PA), and Lynn Washington (Richland Northeast High School – Columbia, SC). Each of these individuals has a phenomenal story to tell. These teachers have won numerous newspaper, yearbook, and television station honors. Each has also been a key factor in students to excelling in journalism, television production, and screen writing.

S’Park Media Mentor Award recipients were honored with the award and a dinner reception in Clarke Lounge. Faculty, staff, and students from the Roy H. Park School of Communications were in attendance.

When I learned of the impact these teachers have made on hundreds of high school students made me think where I got my S’Park. So take a second to think about it – where did you get your S’Park? Who gave it to you? And remember, it’s never too late to thank those who have inspired you.


Roy H. Park School of Communications  ·  311 Park Hall  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-1021  ·  Full Directory Listing