Cuarteto Latinoamericano

Rescheduled from February 2020

The Artists

Cuarteto Latinoamericano is one of the world's most renowned classical music ensembles, for over forty years the leading proponent of Latin American music for string quartet. Founded in Mexico in 1982, the Cuarteto has toured extensively throughout Europe, North and South America, Israel, China, Japan and New Zealand. They have premiered more than a hundred works written for them and they continue to introduce new and neglected composers to the genre. Winners of the 2012 and 2016 Latin Grammys for Best Classical Recordings, they have been recognized with the Mexican Music Critics Association Award and three times received Chamber Music America/ASCAP's "Most Adventurous Programming" Award.

Formed in Mexico in 1982, Cuarteto Latinoamericano was, from 1987 until 2008, quartet-in-residence at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh. Under the auspices of the Sistema Nacional de Orquestas Juveniles of Venezuela, the Cuarteto created the Latin American Academy for String Quartets, based in Caracas, which served as a training ground for five select young string quartets from the Sistema.

The Cuarteto has performed as soloist with many orchestras, including the Los Angeles Philharmonic under Esa-Pekka Salonen, the Seattle Symphony under Gerard Schwarz, Ottawa's National Arts Center Orchestra, the Orquesta Filarmónica de la Ciudad de México, the Dallas Symphony and the Simón Bolívar Orchestra of Venezuela, under Eduardo Mata. They have performed in some of the world's most distinguished halls and music festivals, including the Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, the Esterházy Palace, the Kennedy Center, Ravinia Festival, Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, and the Ojai Festival. They have collaborated with celebrated artists over the years including cellist János Starker, pianists Rudolph Buchbinder and Cyprien Katsaris, tenor Ramón Vargas, guitarists Narciso Yepes, Sharon Isbin, David Tanenbaum, and Manuel Barrueco.

Cuarteto Latinoamericano is represented in the United States by Tom Gallant, General Arts Touring.

The Program

Adagio and Fugue. K. 546 W. A. Mozart
Two tangos: Volver and Por una cabeza

Carlos Gardel (Argentina)
arr. Enrique López

Quartet in G Major Domingo Lobato (Mexico)
Quartettsatz   D.703 Franz Schubert
String Quartet No. 17 Héitor Villa-Lobos (Brazil)