Izzy Award to Be Shared by Earth Island Journal and Journalists Laura Flanders, Dave Lindorff and Aaron Maté


Contributed by Brandy Hawley

The Park Center for Independent Media presents the 11th Annual Izzy Award for outstanding achievement in independent media in 2018, with speeches by all honorees at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, April 15 in Emerson Suites.

Earth Island Journal is being honored for highlighting the connections between environmental degradation, women and indigenous peoples. Editors of Earth Island Journal, Maureen Nandini Mitra and Zoe Loftus Farren will accept the award.

Laura Flanders for producing forward-looking media on a regular basis that investigate policies that drive racism, sexism, and economic exclusion.  

Dave Lindorff for uncovering the opaqueness of Pentagon accounts and funding requests to Congress resulting in bloated military budgets.

Aaron Mate for exposing the hyperbole surrounding the Russia election-collusion story.

The Izzy Award is named in the memory of dissident journalist I. F. “Izzy” Stone. More info on the honorees here, and Amy Goodman’s announcement of the award-winners on Democracy Now! here.

Individuals with disabilities requiring accommodation, please contact Brandy Hawley, 607-274-3590 or bhawley@ithaca.edu, as much in advance as possible.

View this on the events calendar here.