Ithacan Wins National Online Pacemaker

 The Ithacan’s website was honored with the Online Pacemaker Award for 2013 at the Fall National College Media Convention in New Orleans on Oct. 26. The Pacemakers are the highest honors awarded by the Associated Collegiate Press and are generally regarded as “the Pulitzer Prize of collegiate journalism.”

The competition entries were judged during the Spring 2013 semester (Kelsey O’Connor ’13, editor in chief; Honest Charley Bodkin ’15, webmaster).

The Ithacan has won the award six times in the past eight years.

The print edition of The Ithacan was a finalist in the Newspaper Pacemaker category and was presented with a Newspaper Pacemaker Finalist Award at the convention as well. 

 Founded in 1921, the Associated Collegiate Press is the oldest and largest membership organization for college student journalists in the country.

(In photo, from left: Ithacan news editor Noreyana Fernando, assistant design editor Marianna Dunbrook, editor in chief Megan Devlin and assistant Accent editor Evin Billington hold The Ithacan’s Pacemaker and Pacemaker Finalist awards following the presentation.)

Originally published in Intercom: Ithacan Wins National Online Pacemaker.

Roy H. Park School of Communications  ·  311 Park Hall  ·  Ithaca College  ·  Ithaca, NY 14850  ·  (607) 274-1021  ·  Full Directory Listing