Study and Collaborate with H&S Faculty

Our faculty are experts in their fields, making a mark in their chosen disciplines and providing students with unparalleled mentorship opportunities. If you're considering an education in H&S, know that our faculty pride themselves on facilitating advanced research and mentorship opportunities that are truly unique to the undergraduate experience. Our students gain hands-on experience are supported through advising on day one. They go on to lead enriching and multi-faceted careers.

Recent Grants & Awards

Robert Ryan Professors:

Dana Professors:

Dana Teaching Fellows:

Shirley M. Collado Faculty Award Recepients

Faculty Excellence Award Recepients

  • David Gondek, Biology (20-21)
  • M. Nicole Horsley, Center for the Study of Culture, Race, and Ethnicity (20-21)
  • Katharine Kittredge, Department of Literatures in English (19-20)
  • Michael Richardson, Department of World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures (19-20)
  • Elizabeth Bleicher, Department of Literatures in English (18-19)
  • Te-Wen Lo, Department of Biology (18-19)
  • Robert Sullivan, Department of Literatures in English (18-19)
  • Barbara Adams, Department of Writing (17-18)
  • Christopher Holmes, Department of English (17-18)
  • Luca Maurer, Department of Sociology (17-18)
  • Jake Brenner,  Department of the Environment (16-17)
  • Claire Gleitman, Department of Literatures in English (16-17)
  • Jean Hardwick, Department of Biology (16-17)
  • Nia Nunn, Department of Education (16-17)
  • Derek Adams, Department of Literatures in English (15-16)
  • Belisa Gonzalez, Center for the Study of Culture, Race, and Ethnicity (15-16)
  • Maki Inada, Department of Biology (15-16)
  • David A. Brown, Department of Mathematics (14-15)
  • Ali Erkan, Department of Computer Science (14-15)
  • Mike Haaf, Department of Chemistry (14-15)
  • Annette Levine, Department of World Languages, Literature, and Cultures (14-15)
  • Michael Trotti, Department of History (13-14)
Faculty Fulbright Scholars
  • Michael Smith, "Paths to Resilience: A Collaborative Environmental History of Sustainable Development in Totogalpa" (2017).
  • Ali Erkan, "Using Geographic Information Systems for Cross-Cultural Scholarship" (2011-2012).
  • Jennifer Jolly, "Lázaro Cárdenas and the Artistic and Economic Revitalization of Michoacán During the 1930s" (2010-2011)
  • Anna Larsen, "Carboranes in Upper-Level Organometallics Course; Synthesis, Catalysis and Stabilization of Nitroxyl and Diazene" (2010-2011)
  • Shaianne Osterreich, "International Trade, Development, and Technology in Indonesia" (2005-2006)
  • Hugh Egan, "American Literature" (1992, 2003)

External Awards and Honors

  • Kasia Bartoszynska:
    • Award in the Humanities, Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences in America (2022).
    • Donald Murphy Prize for First Book, American Conference in Irish Studies (2022).
  • Amanda Faherty, Leigh Minturn Memorial Award for Early Career Cross-Cultural Research, Society for Cross-Cultural Research (2023).
  • Jennifer Jolly, Best Book in Latin American Visual Culture Studies, Latin American Studies Association (2020).
  • Raul Palma, 2021 Don Belton Prize, Indiana Review / Indiana University Press (2021).
  • Zohreh Soltani, King Award in Art and Architectural History, SUNY Binghamton (2020).
  • Leigh Ann Vaughn:
    • Fellow, Society of Personality and Social Psychology (2022).
    • Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring Award, Society for Personality and Social Psychology (2021).
  • Jack Wang: