intercom home  |  advanced search  |  about intercom  |  alerts  |  faq  |  help  |  rss  

user functions

Log into intercom now

Current Ithaca College community members may contribute stories and comments as well as view additional topics by logging in.

Reset My Password



Sign up to receive a summary of Intercom headlines via e-mail three times a week.

The School of Humanities and Sciences is pleased to announce this year's winners of the C. P. Snow Scholar Award and the H&S Dean's Award. The C. P. Snow Scholar Award recognizes a high-achieving student "who has successfully combined scientific and humanistic studies at Ithaca College." The Dean's Awards are given to the four graduating seniors with the highest GPAs in their discipline.

There were two C. P. Snow Scholars this year: David Widmer '08 and Colleen O'Loughlin '08.

David Widmer is an environmental science major, with minors in H&S honors and history. He received the Best Paper Presentation prize for his presentation at the Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society conference in spring 2007, and during the spring 2008 semester has served as an intern with Christa Construction Corporation (the contractors for the Gateway building project), assisting with organizing and tracking LEED submittals.

Colleen O'Loughlin is a biochemistry major, with an art minor. She has served as president of the Ithaca College Chemistry Club, and worked as a teaching assistant during the spring 2008 semester for the new interdisciplinary course, Chemistry and Art, co-taught by art history professor Gary Wells and Michael Haaf, associate professor of chemistry.

The awards were presented by Dean Howard Erlich at the C. P. Snow Lecture on April 8; each student received a certificate and a check for $500.

C. P. Snow Scholar Award

The H&S Dean's Award is given each year to students in four disciplines. Honorees receive a plaque and are invited to a luncheon with the dean and their faculty advisers and department chairs.

This year's winners are:
Humanities: Amanda Stricker (history major, honors minor, member of Oracle and Phi Kappa Phi); Amanda has been selected for the Teach For America program next year

Fine Arts: Deirdre Callahan (Theater arts management major, honors minor, member Oracle and PKP); Deirdre will be working at the Westport (Connecticut) Country Playhouse as a grant writer and development assistant next year

Natural Sciences/Math: Lia Stelljes (physics major, mathematics minor, member of Oracle, and this year's Phi Kappa Phi John Bernard Scholar); Lia will be studying for a master's in science teaching at Boston University next year

Social Sciences: Dana Cizmas (speech communication major, minors in Italian and integrated marketing communications, member of Oracle, and this year's Phi Kappa Phi John Harcourt Scholar); Dana will be working in the area of public relations next year.

Dean's Award Gallery

School of Humanities and Sciences Honors Six Students with Spring Awards | 0 Comments |
The following comments are the opinions of the individuals who posted them. They do not necessarily represent the position of Intercom or Ithaca College, and the editors reserve the right to monitor and delete comments that violate College policies.
Refresh view