Training Teachers for Tomorrow

Ithaca College prepares teachers in the School of Music, the School of Humanities and Sciences, and the School of Health Sciences and Human Performance.

The All College Teacher Education Committee (ACTEC) is composed of representatives from each of these teacher preparation programs. ACTEC sets general policy and procedures to ensure that all Ithaca College teacher education programs meet or surpass New York State and national accreditation standards. Originally established in 1966, ACTEC was made a standing committee of the college in 1972 and is the governing body of teacher education at Ithaca College. All teacher education programs at Ithaca College adhere to the 2011 InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards

All teacher education programs at Ithaca College are accredited by the Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation (AAQEP). Additionally, Ithaca College is accredited by The Middle States Commission on Higher Education. The School of Music is accredited by The National Association of Schools of Music (NASM). The graduate program in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology within the School of Health Sciences and Human Performance is accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA) of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

A 2022 Best College for Education in New York!

Ithaca College made it to the top three of Niche’s 2018 list of Best Colleges for Education in New York!

All-College Teacher Education Unit Vision Statement

We strive to prepare exemplary teachers and educational leaders who work collaboratively with individuals and communities to create high quality education for all.

All-College Teacher Education Unit Mission Statement

The All-College Teacher Education Unit at Ithaca College embraces the values of knowledge, competence, and a commitment to service expressed in the Ithaca College Mission. Our mission is to prepare teachers who possess knowledge and teaching competence in their respective disciplines, who know how to work collaboratively and effectively with diverse communities of students and families, and who are inspired and motivated by the belief that excellence and equity in education are profoundly interdependent. To this end, Ithaca College teacher educators guide candidates through carefully designed and supervised programs where theory, research, and practice combine in order to provide them with solid foundations in the content, professional, pedagogical, technological, relational, and cultural knowledge and experiences needed in order to become engaged and effective teachers for all students in the 21st century.


For additional information, please contact the All College Teacher Education Staff at: