NYSED: Certification Exams and Teaching Standards in NYS

Certification Exams

Candidates for initial certification in New York State are required to pass two assessments: Educating All Students (EAS) and a Content Specialty Test in the certification area (CST).   A performance assessment (formerly edTPA) will be a requirement for NYS Certification again as of September 1, 2023 .     Click the links below for more information on the New York State assessments.

New York State Teacher Certification Exams (EAS, CST)

Current information about the edTPA requirement from NYSED

New York State Office of Higher Education

Certification Exam Safety Nets

Click here for details about Safety Nets for specific licensure examinations

State Teaching Standards

NYSED's website maintains information about current New York State Teaching Standards and other regulations pertaining to educator preparation in NYS.