Alex Babcock '21 is the recipient of the Drago Chemistry Award.  This award is given to a rising senior based on academic achievement, laboratory skills, promise in the field of Chemistry and recommendations by the faculty of the Department of Chemistry.

About Alex:

Alex Babcock initially started at Tompkins Community College where he pursued an associates in engineering and played on the baseball team. After two years at TC3, Alex transferred to Ithaca to pursue a bachelor's in chemistry and played on the baseball team for one year. In the 2021 spring semester, he began doing research with Rebecca Craig on harmful algal blooms in Cayuga Lake. He plans to work after graduating with interest in pursuing a master's degree in chemical engineering or pursuing to become an optometrist.





Other Academic Achievements:

Dean's List

Flora Brown Award

3.9 GPA after getting sent home during the 2020 spring semester



Previous Award Recipients

2022: Maxwell Bridges

2021: Alex Babcock

2020: Sidney Kay

2019: Andrew McCabe & Nora Vail

2018: Anthony DiBernardo & Kito Gilbert-Bass

2017: Noah A. Budin

2016: Benjamin C. Morse 

2015: Kaitlyn DeHority & Connor Shea

2014:  Rachael Snyder

2013: Carina Chittim

2012: Kathleen Sampson & Christine Gomes

2011: Robert Hoyuela

2010: Juan Duchimaza & Anthony Farrari

2008: Melissa Martin

2007: Amanda Kowalsick

2006: Josh Mesland

2004: Michael Sangi & Mathew Sprague

2002: Shannon Werner

2001:  William Pomerantz

2000: Teresa Porri

1999: Neal Abrams

1997: Brain Mruk

1995: David Finger

1994: Rachael Sawyer