The governance committee role will be to: 

  • Ensure the successful implementation of Canvas by the start of the Fall 2021 semester 
  • Define goals and processes as it relates to the implementation and adoption of the LMS 
  • Define milestones and oversee completion of such 
  • Communicate progress, risks/concerns to the executive committee 
  • Champion the new system to the campus community 
  • Provide frequent communications to the campus community 


Committee Co-chairs:  

  • Jenna Linskens, Director, Learning & Innovative Technologies, IT 
  • Matt Clauhs, Assistant Professor, Music Education 


  • Faculty representatives from each of the 5 schools: 
    • H&S (2): 
      • John Barr, Professor, Computer Science
      • Gary Wells, Associate Professor, Art History
    • Music:  
      • Benjamin Rochford, Assistant Professor, Music Performance
    • Business: 
      • John Vongas, Assistant Professor, Management
    • HSHP: 
      • Candace Receno, Assistant Professor, Excercise Science & Athletic Training
    • Park Comm: 
      • Dennis Charsky, Associate Professor and CMD Program Director, Strategic Communications
  • Student representatives: 
    • Deontae Guy, Sociology Major, Class of 2023 
    • Olivia Shultis, Busin Admin/Marketing Co Major, Class of 2023 
  • Faculty Governance (APC Policy): 
    • John Vongas, Assistant Professor of Management, School of Business
  • Associate Dean Representative: 
    • Brendan Murday, Associate Dean, H&S 
  • Provost Office Representative(s): 
    • Jeane Copenhaver-Johnson, Associate Provost, Academic Programs 
    • Brad Hougham, Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs 
  • Center for Faculty Excellence Representative: 
    • Marilyn Dispensa, Senior Instructional Designer 
  • Student Accessibility Services Representative (alternating) :  
    • Ian Moore, Manager, SAS 
    • Valerie Ober, Adaptive Technology Specialist, SAS 
  • Library Representative:
    • Lis Chabot, College Librarian, Retired
  • Members-at-Large:
    • Amie Germain, Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy, School of Health Sciences and Human Performance
    • Joseph Ungco, Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy, School of Health Sciences and Human Performance
  • Additional advisory/supporting (non-voting) members:
    • Micky Akers-Coville, Project Manager/Business Analyst, Information Technology