Ithaca College Theatre Arts Presents “The Other Shore”

By Ryan Dickson '18, November 9, 2021
Production offers a journey through music, movement and text.

Ithaca College Theatre continues its 2021-2022 in-person season with “The Other Shore,” written by Gao Xingjian and translated by Gilbert. C Fong. Presented in the Earl McCarroll Theatre, performances run select dates between Nov. 12 and Dec. 4, 2021.

From 2000 Nobel Prize in Literature recipient Gao Xingjian comes a journey through music, movement and text toward nirvana. The “Other Shore,” originally written as an exercise for actors, explores the relationships between actors and the stage, the individual and the crowd, and humanity with the world around us. The play follows a group of actors who take a trip to “the other shore” and forget the world from where they came. In their new identities, the group must relearn human fundamentals, along with strife and turmoil .

In Ithaca College Theatre’s production, sound and lighting take the audience on a journey of self-reflection to “The Other Shore.” The implementation of sound and lighting elements opens Xingjian’s world to the audience and allows us to question the realities of the world around us. 

Following the evening performance on Dec. 2 at 8 p.m., there will be a post-show discussion moderated by production dramaturg Grace Gallagher '23.

“The Other Shore” is performed through arrangement with Georges Borchardt, Inc., for Gao Xingjian. All rights reserved. 

Ticket Information

“The Other Shore” will be presented in the Earl McCarroll Theatre on Nov. 12, Nov. 13, Dec. 2, Dec. 3, and Dec. 4 at 8 p.m. EST with matinee performances on Nov. 13 and Dec. 4 at 2 p.m. EST. Tickets are available for purchase Monday through Friday, 12 p.m. – 3 p.m., in person at the Dillingham Box Office located inside Dillingham Center, or by phone at 607-274-3224.

The Department of Theatre Arts proudly accommodates all patrons. Individuals are asked to contact to request accommodations as soon as possible.

Cast and Creative Team Information

The cast of “The Other Shore” features:

  • Liam Roberts ‘23 (Actor 1 [Father])
  • Denise Kolodja ‘23 (Actor 2 [Woman/Mad Woman])
  • Mayson Sontag ‘22 (Actor 3 [Man])
  • Isabella Orrego Madrinan ‘23 (Actor 4 [Mother/Zen Master])
  • Liz Gilmartin ‘23 (Actor 5 [Card Player])
  • Oscar Izenson ‘23 (Actor 6 [Plaster Seller/Stable Keeper])
  • Julia Zoratto ‘22 (Actor 7 [Young Girl/Young Lady])
  • Gabriel Vasquez ‘24 (Actor 8 [Young Man])
  • Abby Futterman ‘22 (Actor 9 [Obedient Girl/Old Lady])
  • Sterling Jones ‘23 (Actor 10 [Shadow])
  • Understudies Maya Fortgang ‘23 and Theo Pearson ‘25

The creative team features:

  • Michael Kaplan, assistant professor of acting in the Department of Theatre Arts (Director)
  • Steven Marti ‘22 (Production Stage Manager)
  • Grace Gallagher ‘23 (Dramaturg)
  • Nell Walker ‘22 (Costume Designer)
  • Anna Kathren (AK) Cox ‘23 (Lighting Designer)
  • Katelyn Beckett ‘22 (Scenic Designer)
  • Molly Danieli ‘23  (Sound Designer)
  • Thomas Jenkeleit ‘22 (Props Designer)