The series brings distinguished writers to the Ithaca College campus to offer a public reading and participate in the Visiting Writers' Workshop, an advanced class that allows IC students a unique opportunity to learn from some of America's foremost writers.

Spring 2020 

Literary Journalist WALT HARRINGTON 

TUESDAY, MARCH 17, 2020 at 6 PM

A former staff writer for the Washington Post Magazine, Walt Harrington has published two memoirs that blend autobiography and reportage: Crossings: A White Man’s Journey Into Black America and The Everlasting Stream: A True Story of Rabbits, Guns, Friendship, and Family. The author or editor of several nonfiction books — Intimate Journalism: The Art and Craft of Reporting Everyday LifeThe Beholder’s Eye, and Artful Journalism, among others — Harrington has won numerous feature writing awards and the Gustavus Myers Center Award for the Study of Human Rights in the United States.


TUESDAY, MARCH 31, 2020 at 6 PM

Danez Smith is a black, queer, poz writer and performer from St. Paul, MN. They are the author of the poetry collections Don’t Call us Dead[insert] Boy, and Homie. A finalist for the 2017 National Book Award, they have won the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Poetry, the Forward Prize, and the Poetry Society of America's inaugural Four Quartets Prize. They also have received fellowships from the Poetry Foundation, the McKnight Foundation, Cave Canem, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Fiction & Nonfiction Writer JOY CASTRO 

TUESDAY, APRIL 14, 2020 at 6 PM

Joy Castro is the award-winning author of the memoir The Truth Book, two literary thrillers set in post-Katrina New Orleans: Hell or High Water and Nearer Home, the essay collection Island of Bones, and the short fiction collection How Winter Began. Winner of the Nebraska Book Award and an International Latino Book Award, a finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award, and the editor of the anthology Family Trouble, she teaches creative writing, literature, and Latinx studies at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.