Nominations Open for 12th Annual ‘Izzy Award’ for Independent Media

By Dave Maley, December 20, 2019
Award named for legendary journalist I. F. Stone.

With the Izzy Award set to celebrate its 12th year, award nominations are now open for work produced in the calendar year 2019.

The annual honor for outstanding achievement in independent media — named after legendary journalist I. F. “Izzy” Stone — is presented by the Park Center for Independent Media (PCIM) at Ithaca College.

This year’s Izzy Award will be given for work published, broadcast or posted in 2019 by an independent media outlet, journalist or producer. The award may relate to a single piece or a body of work. Journalists, academics and the public at large may submit nominations by the February 3, 2020 (midnight), deadline. The winner will be announced early next spring, with an award ceremony to follow in April 2020.

Nominations should be submitted via a brief email (250 words or less) that includes supporting web links (no more than six) and/or attached materials to Brandy Hawley at

“This year has once again highlighted the limitations of mainstream corporate media,” said PCIM director Raza Rumi. “The independent outlets boldly covered issues such as immigration, racial violence, voter suppression, and climate change and stirred national conversations. The 12th Izzy Award will honor independent journalism that places public interest above all other considerations.”

For more information on the Izzy Award and the PCIM, visit

Izzy Award recipients are chosen by a panel of independent judges with expertise in independent media. Past winners include Amy Goodman, Jeremy Scahill, Naomi Klein, John Carlos Frey, Glenn Greenwald, Todd Miller and independent news sources such as “City Limits” and “Mother Jones.”

Launched in 2008 and located within Ithaca College’s Roy H. Park School of Communications, the Park Center for Independent Media is a national center focusing on media outlets that create and distribute content outside traditional corporate systems and news organizations.