Events Calendar

PARK SCHOLAR PROGRAM 2018-19 EVENTS

Fall 2018 Semester Events

Park Scholar Orientation for New First-Year Scholars
Sunday, August 19 – Tuesday, August 21

Portraits of New Park Scholars
Lighting Studio/Park 144

Tuesday, August 28, 2-5pm

Park Scholar Orientation for New Rising Junior Scholars
Upper Buttermilk Falls shelter
Friday, August 31 // 3:00 -4:00 p.m.

Opening Meeting/Welcome Back BBQ
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Upper Buttermilk Falls shelter
Friday, August 31, 4:30 – 7:00 p.m.

Cultural Competency Workshops for Sophomores
dates, times, locations to be announced

Fall Saturday Seminar and Book Discussion
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS

Hill 107, various Park classrooms
Saturday, September 15, 10am to 4pm

Fall Service Proposals Due
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Monday, September 17, by 5pm

NYC Shadowing Trip Meeting

Park 332

September 21, 4 to 5:30

Servant Leadership Workshop for Juniors
Clark Lounge

September 28th, 4 to 6pm

Park Scholar Alumni Advisory Board Visit

FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
(workshops, reception, and Senior Brunch times and locations to be announced)
Saturday, September 29 - Sunday, September 30

Senior Trip Meeting

Park 332

October 5, 4 to 5:30

New York City Job Shadowing Trip for Juniors
Thursday, October 18 – Saturday, October 20

Fall Meeting
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Clark Lounge
Friday, November 2, 4:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Senior Trip Meeting

Park 332

November 9, 4 to 5:30

Mid-term Meetings with Director

FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Sign-Up sheet for appointments

End-of-Semester Dinner (to be followed by final senior trip meeting)
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Clark Lounge
Friday, December 14 // 5:00 – 6:30 p.m.

Spring 2019 Semester Events

Service-Learning Trip to Tucson, AZ for Park Scholar Seniors
Saturday, January 12 – Saturday, January 19

Winter Meeting
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Klingenstein Lounge
Friday, January 25, 4:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Spring Service Proposals Due
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Monday, February 11 by 5pm

Spring Saturday Seminar and Book Discussion
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Saturday, February 16, 10 to 4

Director Meeting with Finalist Hosts
Friday, March 1

Spring Meeting (followed by Hosts only meeting)
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Klingenstein Lounge
Friday, March 22, 4:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Park Scholar Finalists Visit
Sunday, March 24 – Tuesday, March 26

Welcome Dinner
Klingenstein Lounge
Sunday, March 24, 5:00 – 7:15 p.m.

Finalists & Hosts Dinner
Clark Lounge
Monday, March 25 / 5:30 – 6:15 p.m.

Whalen Academic Symposium
details to be announced

Family Carnival
details to be announced

Spring Colloquium
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Emerson Suites
Thursday, April 18 / 5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

End of Year Picnic
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
location to be announced
Friday, May 3 / 4:30 – 6:30 p.m.

End of Year Reflections Due
FOR ALL PARK SCHOLARS
Monday, June 3