Scriptwriting Competition

2018 Rod Serling Scriptwriting Competition Entries Now Being Accepted

Entries are now being accepted for the Rod Serling Short Feature Scriptwriting Competition.

The script competition is open to non-produced or non-optioned writers only. The deadline for entries is Monday, Sept. 17, 2018

Rod Serling taught at Ithaca College from 1967 until his death in 1975. Ithaca College is now home to the Rod Serling Archives consisting of television scripts, movie screenplays, stage play scripts, films, published works by Serling, unproduced scripts, and secondary materials.


The script competition is open to non-produced, or non-optioned writers only. Any applicant who has earned money or other consideration as a screenwriter for theatrical films or television, or as a playwright for the legitimate theatre, or for the sale of, or sale of an option to, any original story, treatment, screenplay, play, or teleplay will not be eligible for the competition.

Deadline: All entries must be postmarked or received via email by Monday, Sept. 17, 2018. The top 5 finalists will be read by a panel of industry professionals as well as Carol Serling.


First Place: $250
Second Place: $150
Third Place: $100

Finalists will be notified and their names will be posted on the Serling website. Winners will be notified by October 26, 2018.

Submission Guidelines

1. Each script must be written in the same genre and style that would have been suitable to conform with episodes for either THE TWILIGHT ZONE or NIGHT GALLERY. More specifically, this means displaying traits of either a horror or a science fiction genre, while exhibiting strong traditional or contemporary social themes.

Examples of two scripts written by Rod Serling have been posted for your reference. The first is from a NIGHT GALLERY episode, “Class of ’99,” that aired in September, 1971. It is copyrighted material not intended for reproduction purposes and is available here for information purposes only. The second is a famed season 3 episode of the TWILIGHT ZONE, “To Serve Man,” that aired March 2, 1962. It is also copyrighted, not intended for reproduction and to be used solely for information purposes.

2. Each script must be written in English.

3. Each script must be between 10 to 20 pages in length. No exceptions. Scripts that do not conform to the above page limit will be disqualified.

4. Each script must be written in standard industry format i.e. the accepted current industry standard for motion pictures. Electronic entries MUST be submitted in pdf form. Hard copy scripts must also use standard industry binding: three-hole punched with brass brads in the top and bottom holes. Entries not meeting these criteria will be disqualified.

5. Scripts will be blind judged. The entrant’s name and identifying information must appear ONLY on the entry form. No personal information should appear on the script OR on the title page. ONLY the title of the piece should appear on the title page.

6. All entrants must submit:

a. a pdf or hard copy of the script

b. a completed and signed entry form either in hard copy or pdf

7. All scripts must be POSTMARKED or EMAILED by MONDAY, Sept. 17, 2018. Scripts will not be returned.

8. Failure to comply with any of the guidelines can result in disqualification. Entry fees for disqualified entries WILL NOT BE RETURNED.

9. Scripts should be registered with the Writer’s Guild of America Script Registry.

10. You may enter more than one script. All entries should be either:

1. Emailed to


2. Sent to:

Steve Ginsberg
Serling Scriptwriting Competition

c/o Ithaca College Los Angeles Program
3800 Barham Blvd. Suite 305
Los Angeles, California 90068