Announcement about the 2021-22 Competition

The  administrators of the 2021-2022  Ithaca College/Heckscher Foundation International Composition Prize would like to inform all entrants to the Prize and the general public that the Award Committee decided not to award a prize this year.

2021 Heckscher Foundation - Ithaca College International Composition Prize

The Ithaca College School of Music, Theatre, and Dance is pleased to announce the 2021 Heckscher Foundation–Ithaca College International Composition Prize. This year the competition will award the best work for a duo of instruments (two performers) to choose from the list below:

  • Oboe (doubl. English horn)
  • Trumpet (C or B-flat, doubling Picc.)
  • Tuba
  • Percussion (any combination of instruments playable by one performer)
  • Voice (soprano or mezzo-soprano)
  • Violin

No electronics of any kind will be allowed.

No duplicate instruments (e.g. two oboes).

Performers may play ancillary instruments.


The work’s duration must be maximum 20 minutes. Pieces submitted to the competition may have been previously performed, recorded or awarded other prizes.

The composer of the winning work will receive a cash award of $1,000. The work will be performed as part of the Ithaca College Contemporary Ensemble concert at Ithaca College, date TBA. The performance will be Live Streamed. The feasibility of a live concert performance may be affected by Covid-19 restrictions as established by New York State, Tompkins County and Ithaca College.  

Please note:

The winning composer is welcome to attend the performance at Ithaca College if so desired. The Heckscher Foundation-Ithaca College Composition Prize will not provide travel/accommodation allowance.

Submission deadline is October 30, 2021.  The winning work will be announced on the Ithaca College Heckscher Competition website by December 1, 2021. The winner will be contacted via e-mail.


Submission Guidelines:

  1. Submissions must be anonymous.
  2. Only ONE submission per composer will be accepted.
  3. Score and recording must show the title of the work only. Should any part of the composer’s name be legible on the score, recording or linked URLs, the entry will be disqualified. For submitting materials electronically, please use the online entry form found on this link.
  4. To submit your materials, you will need to provide direct URLs to the following:
  • Score in PDF format (no other format will be accepted)
  • Recording, audio or video (if available). For audio, mp3 is preferred.
  • Text or PDF document containing your full name, address, telephone number and e-mail address. This document should be labeled with the title of your piece plus the words “contact info”, example: "Mypiece-contactinfo.pdf"

Please Note: PDF, audio, video and text files should be uploaded to platforms such as Dropbox, Megaupload, or any hosting space, making sure that no part of the URL or linked page reveals the identity of the composer. Your materials must be available at the provided URL until at least February 1, 2022. Electronic submissions or links sent via e-mail or any other method aside from the specified above will not be accepted.

Please note that online submission via the electronic form is the only valid form of submission. Do NOT send materials or links via e-mail. Mail-in submissions will not be accepted.

To access the online form, follow this link or copy and paste the URL below into your web browser's address bar:


Should you have any questions, please send an e-mail to Cibelle Donza at cdonza@ithaca.edu