Calendar

Permissions and Sharing

With Outlook Calendar, you can open someone else's calendar only if they say you can. By default, the only information that is available to everyone is "free/busy" times. Free/busy times are shown when someone attempts to schedule you for a meeting.

If you would like everyone, or just some people, to see more details about your Outlook calendar, you have a few options.

  • You can adjust your settings for everyone.
  • You can share a read-only view of your calendar through an email invitation.
  • You can share read-only or higher-level view through setting permissions.
  • You can delegate your calendar, so other people can manage it just like you can.

Permissions

You can grant permission to others to see your calendar. By default, others can only see free/busy times. This means when proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, everyone can see blocks of time when you are busy, but cannot see other details, such as subject, location, participants, notes, or attachments. But, there are many other options available.

Permission Options

Permission What It Means
None Person has no access; for calendar, person cannot see your free/busy times in the Scheduling Assistant.
Free/Busy time (calendar only) Person can see blocks of "busy" time on calendar, but cannot see any details; this is the default setting for everyone at Ithaca College.
Free/Busy time, subject, location (calendar only) Person can see time, subject, and location of items on calendar, but cannot see other details, such as participants, notes, or attachments.
Contributor Person can create new items but cannot see any of the contents of the folder. (The folder's owner will be able to see them.)
Reviewer Person can read items in the folder, but cannot create, edit, or delete items.
Non-editing Author Person can create and read items, but not edit them. Person can delete items they've created, but cannot delete items created by the owner or other people.
Author Person can create and read items. Person can edit and delete items they've created, but not items created by the owner or other people.
Publishing Author Same as Author, plus person can create new sub-folders.
Editor Person can create, read, edit, and delete all items, regardless of who created them.
Publishing Editor Same as Editor, plus person can create new sub-folders.
Owner Person has supreme executive power over the folder, as if it was their own.
Delegate Delegates act "on behalf of" another person. If delegate access has been granted, all email associated with meetings will go to the delegate. This level of access should only be used if someone is completely managing the calendar of someone else.

You can either assign these permissions to everyone or to individuals. To adjust view settings for everyone, you must use the Windows Outlook email client not OWA.

Sharing A Calendar

As you create a meeting invitation using the Scheduling Assistant, you are able to see whether others are free or busy, but you won't be able to see any other information about their schedule (such as the meeting title, who is invited, or where it's taking place), nor are you able to view their calendar in the same ways you view your own. If you want someone else's calendar to show up as a Shared Calendar in the Calendar pane, follow the steps below. This is "read only " access, you won't be able to change anything on the calendar unless additional permissions have been set up (see table above). This option may be helpful for certain work groups who need to see people's availability prior to scheduling a meeting, teams, etc.

Outlook Web App:

Windows:

Mac: